Frozen elevation cables - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 02-12-2019, 10:04 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Frozen elevation cables

Has anyone had an issue with frozen snow chute cables on their 3x Cubs? My 3x 30HD freezes up after each use. Ive had the cables replaced with the same results. Any ideas?
WI Banditman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 02-12-2019, 10:29 AM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,137
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 510
Thanks (Received): 681
Likes (Given): 3844
Likes (Received): 1478
Garage
to SBF WI Banditman

The model and serial number of a photo would be helpful to understand how the cable is situated.
Is there or a need for a rubber boot at each end? Is there one there now? Is the cable looped down or does it come up over the top?
Have you ever lubed it in the off season?

.

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 02-12-2019, 11:14 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiss4aFrog View Post
to SBF WI Banditman

The model and serial number of a photo would be helpful to understand how the cable is situated.
Is there or a need for a rubber boot at each end? Is there one there now? Is the cable looped down or does it come up over the top?
Have you ever lubed it in the off season?

.
Sorry, I dont have the Serial on hand. but it is a 3x 30HD I purchased it new in December of 2017. Ive tried lubing the cables which was no help. I had the cables replaced at the dealer and they froze up on the way home. It was -10 when I picked it up. I called Cub Cadet and they told me they had never heard of this problem and there was nothing they could do and didnt have any siggestions for me. UGH!!! Even the dealer doesnt have any good suggestions on what to do. As for the rubber boot, it looks like there is a plastic plug at the end but no rubber boots. The cable loops down under the engine.
WI Banditman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frozen auger on shaft of Simplicity 870 Dusty Snowblower Repairs and Maintenance Forum 17 12-30-2018 10:24 AM
RED Yamaha YS-828 Led light? Two coils? Two electric cables from the engine? bubbenboy_90 General Snowblower Discussion 7 09-25-2017 02:54 PM
Do you lube cables ? Prime Honda Snowblowers 10 03-11-2017 09:48 AM
My wheels are frozen. scipper77 Snowblower Repairs and Maintenance Forum 12 02-06-2014 10:19 AM
Frozen chute deflector cable on Craftsman blower bw77 Snowblower Repairs and Maintenance Forum 5 12-20-2013 10:01 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome