LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-01-2020, 12:38 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Cub Cadet 3x28 suddenly weak.

Gentlemen, I am having a very frustrating morning. My CC 3x28 is on only its third winter here in northern Maine. It worked fine the first two winters- as advertised and like one sees in the YouTube videos touting this machine. Suddenly, this winter, it is so weak: it will not clear more than 3" of snow and even then throws the snow just a couple of feet. Also, it drives slower than I know it should. The shoot clogs up every two minutes- and that is when the machine is working 'well'. /// Before coming to bother you guys here, I have checked the machine to the best of my ability. I am not a mechanic, but I have taken her apart and checked whatever I could. The shear pins are fine. The belts are fine- taut when engaging. The cables are fine, too- slightly loose when not engaged and taut when engaged. I put a new friction disc on her and that has changed nothing. Everything appears to be in perfect order. No strange noises. The only other hint of something out of whack is the fact that when I first start her up she will not drive- as if the wheels are locked up. I push her forward and back, move the gear shift lever up and down several times and eventually, she starts to slowly move and a few minutes later moves better- though not perfect. But she moves at a decent speed in first gear and somewhat quicker in second, so I am not complaining about this aspect. But she will not throw snow if it is more than an inch or so. I do not know how I ended up in this situation with a machine that worked so nicely that first winter. I am out of ideas.

Last edited by Alden Banniettis; 01-01-2020 at 12:39 PM. Reason: Punctuation
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 01-01-2020, 01:09 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 71
Thanks (Received): 118
Likes (Given): 566