LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 54 Old 09-24-2016, 09:55 AM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Shear Pin problems on Cub Cadet 3x?

Amazon has a lot of reviews of Cub Cadets and many complain that they have broken many many shear pins, like it's a constant problem. Consumer reports rates Cub a little higher than Ariens but I want to choose the best one for complete ease of use and dependable durability (hope that's not asking too much). I'm looking at either the 26" or 28" 3x Cub vs the 28" platinum Ariens....

Also that Ariens does not have hand warmers, any problems or loss of quality with installing them?

Comments, experience, advice appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 54 Old 09-24-2016, 12:09 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 12
Thanks (Received): 38
Likes (Given): 11
Likes (Received): 63
Smile Welcome Aboard!

First off let me say I have no experience with Cub Cadet.
Secondly I can't remember the last time I broke a shear pin! My experience with owners telling me they broke shear pins has almost always been operator error. That is not to say Cub Cadet didn't have a run of less than adequate shear pins.
As to what snowblower is right for you I can only say two words, Toro and Ariens. Both brands offer many different machines and have an extensive dealer network that should make it easy to find people you can develop a rapport with. Before you visit write down a few requirements and information you need. How long is your driveway, other areas you want to clean, how steep is it, do you need tracks or wheels, hand warmers, an operator enclosure, etc.
Also while many on this site disregard the website "MovingSnow.com" as just being a sales website a few of us have found it useful.