Electrical output? - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 12-27-2016, 01:56 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Question Electrical output?

Newbie here so sorry if the question has been asked before.

I have a ten year old Cub Cadet 526WE that has a single bulb in the handle assembly. I'd like to add a couple of LED lights but don't want to overload the alternator coil. Any idea how I can find out the output available?


Thanks for any help.

Last edited by Kiss4aFrog; 12-27-2016 at 04:25 PM.
bruker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 12-27-2016, 02:22 PM
Senior Member
 
e.fisher26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 552
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 41
Likes (Given): 33
Likes (Received): 51
Electrical output?

Easy way... change exiting bulb to led and add another led light, or disconnect OEM light and connect a couple new led's. the OEM bulb may show what amp or watts it is. Don't go over that with new lights or the combinAtion of. Leds are low amp so it takes a few to reach amps of a halogen bulb


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by e.fisher26; 12-27-2016 at 02:24 PM.
e.fisher26 is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 12-27-2016, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
e.fisher26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 552
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 41
Likes (Given): 33
Likes (Received): 51
I have a 4in led utility light and 2 more 12in led light strips on an older tecumseh


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
e.fisher26 is online now  
post #4 of 8 Old 12-27-2016, 04:28 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,146
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 512
Thanks (Received): 682
Likes (Given): 3849
Likes (Received): 1480
Garage
to SBF bruker


You might want to post the numbers off the engine. That would help with looking it up and seeing what it has available to run lights. You need to figure out what the engine can put out and then the draw of any lights you might want to use to make sure it's not more than the engine can produce.

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 12-27-2016, 05:30 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
The engine is a Tecumseh 8.5hp Model #LH318SA.

I replaced the original bulb with an LED a few years back but I think it was an 1144 (25watt) or a 1156 (27watt).
bruker is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 12-27-2016, 11:26 PM
Member
 
Blackfin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 95
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 18
Likes (Given): 21
Likes (Received): 38
According to a 526WE manual I found online, the OE bulb in that blower is p/n 925-04213 which, they say, is rated at 12.5V & 37.5W.

Replacing that lamp with two 18W LED assemblies rated for 12V should work.
Blackfin is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Kiss4aFrog thanked for this post
post #7 of 8 Old 12-28-2016, 12:28 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,585
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 158
Likes (Given): 95
Likes (Received): 302
Take a look at the wire from the light all the way to the engine usually to a clip near/under the gas tank. Then look at this post #51 for wire colors. (you may need to pull the protective coating back to see wire colors. The bulb "rating" doesn't always tell the alternator because they will sometimes place a higher rated bulb to avoid "dirty" power and rpm variance.
https://www.snowblowerforum.com/forum...d-grips-6.html
jtclays is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 12-28-2016, 08:35 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
^Thanks for the info. I just checked and it's a yellow wire.
bruker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome