LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 01-27-2017, 02:53 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Unhappy Compatible Engines on Noma Snowblower

Hi all a newbie here, New to snowblowers in general. I picked up a used Noma Snow blower that had a HMSK80-155556U 8hp engine on it. Tried to run it once after doing the usual replacing oil and fuel with new fluids. It ran for about 3 minutes then the dreaded metal on metal crack and the engine seized. After a few hours of tinkering I found the rod had broken and under the starter motor a significant spiderweb of cracks and one branch that heads up toward the cylinder. Now I'm trying to find a way to get a working snowblower. Can anyone help me find out what engines I could use to replace this one or if I could get a replacement cylinder block or what is the cheapest, and easiest way to get this snow blower running again?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 01-27-2017, 02:59 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 99
Thanks (Received): 156
Likes (Given): 317
Likes (Received): 623
Dropping a used 8hp Tec is the easiest route. You should advise Your Location, as someone here may have an engine available. Or check your local CL. Good Luck.
post #3 of 14 Old 01-27-2017, 03:06 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Should have listed location... You are right... I'm in Utah south of Provo.
So will any Tecumseh 8HP engine fit up correctly with the snow blower?
post #4 of 14 Old 01-27-2017, 03:14 PM

Post Thanks / Like
The Only real Variable is the Crankshaft Diameter. You'll have to measure the Diameter, usually 3/4" or 1". Direct Bolt on, easy swap.
post #5 of 14 Old 01-27-2017, 03:19 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks,
So forgive the newbie question here the crank shaft diameter in question is output shaft where the pulley's are and not the reverse side where the flywheel attaches correct?