bowl gasket installation (on carb or on bowl first) - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 05-03-2017, 12:47 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: CANADA
Posts: 128
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 2
bowl gasket installation (on carb or on bowl first)

whats the proper way to install bowl gasket, should I place it on bowl first or mount it to the carb first?
Also is the gasket visible once the bowl is installed??
I feel gas on the bowl.
Maybe I tightened the main jet too much??

(The reason I ask this is I took a bowl off to remove bad feel now and replaced the gasket and now 3 days later I have a leak)

Last edited by wantboost; 05-03-2017 at 01:10 PM.
wantboost is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 05-03-2017, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: colorado springs, co
Posts: 104
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 9
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 9
put the gasket on the carb body first, then slip the bowl over it. some wd40 or even spit will help the bowl slip on.
The gasket sometime is and sometimes isn't visible after install.
Did you replace the gasket under the main jet too?
Old bowls can occasionally develop a pinhole leak in their bottom.
A leaking float valve will force fuel out of the carb regardless of the bowl gaskets.
cpchriste is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Grunt liked this post
post #3 of 20 Old 05-03-2017, 01:24 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: CANADA
Posts: 128
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 2
I put the gasket in the bowl first . I didn't replace the jet gasket . I replaced the bowl also and bowl gasket . I guess I 'll put the plastic float in water and see if there s a leak ? Could it be from over tightening the main jet maybe crushed the bowl gasket . I felt fuel around the bowl so it is coming from the bowl seal and not the jet ....
wantboost is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 05-04-2017, 10:54 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: CANADA
Posts: 128
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 2
I took it apart the bowl gasket I used was too large . I shook the float didn't hear any water etc . It's plastic . I ran it i see slight movement at the governor spring/arm is this normal
wantboost is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 05-05-2017, 12:47 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: CANADA
Posts: 128
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 2
I ran it i see slight movement at the governor spring/arm is this normal ???
wantboost is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 05-05-2017, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,416
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 112
Likes (Given): 13
Likes (Received): 292
Yes, the governor moves slightly during operation to keep the RPM steady.

Did you check the float level while you had the bowl off the carb? If the float is set too low, not enough fuel flows into the bowl to keep the engine happy, especially under load.

If the float is set too high, then too much gas flows into the bowl before the needle valve closes and that can cause a leak at the gasket or worse, it can allow raw gas to flow into the intake manifold, through the intake valve, and into the crankcase oil.

Pull the dipstick out of the engine and see if the oil level appear high, and if the oil smells like gas.

If you don't already have one, you can install a fuel shutoff valve in the gas line before the carb so you can turn off the fuel flow from the tank and keep things from leaking during storage, if you store you equipment with gas in the tank. Also prevents that stink that gas makes that lasts forever.

You should be able to find instructions for setting the float level for your particular engine and carb on the web.

Work fascinates me.
I can watch somebody work for hours...
2008 Craftsman 944.528391 (It's a Husqvarna ST227P)
27", B&S 305cc 13.5 ft/lb Torque 9.5 hp
skutflut is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 05-05-2017, 02:36 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: CANADA
Posts: 128
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 2
It's a 4hp. I guess I'll look up the float gap.. I also hear a slight pop when I'm close to it . I dunno if I'm just being fussy...
wantboost is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 05-05-2017, 07:57 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: CANADA
Posts: 128
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 2
It's a 4hp motor .
Seems like gap is7/32 ...
also how can I find proper plug for this motor .
Can I check float gap with unit on it's side I don't want to dismantle everything
wantboost is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 05-06-2017, 12:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,416
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 112
Likes (Given): 13
Likes (Received): 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by wantboost View Post
It's a 4hp motor .
Seems like gap is7/32 ...
also how can I find proper plug for this motor .
Can I check float gap with unit on it's side I don't want to dismantle everything
You really should remove the carb to check it out. You cannot do a proper job of cleaning, adjusting, or checking float level with the carb on its side. Gravity is part of what determines float level. Having the carb off also makes it easier to get the bowl gasket on straight. Gotta be able to see what you're doing when you work on the engine. Did you check valve clearance yet? What plug you got in there now? Engine part number search in google should get all the info you need.

Work fascinates me.
I can watch somebody work for hours...
2008 Craftsman 944.528391 (It's a Husqvarna ST227P)
27", B&S 305cc 13.5 ft/lb Torque 9.5 hp
skutflut is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 05-06-2017, 12:13 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: CANADA
Posts: 128
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 2
The help I asked u for previously was for a different machine . This 4hp has a e3 plug I have a feeling it's the wrong one . I bought this second hand
wantboost is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome