Who uses plug in electric start and why? - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 85 Old 01-16-2018, 03:17 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 11
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 8
Garage
Who uses plug in electric start and why?

I am new to the snow throwing world, so explain this one to me please.

It takes 5-10 minutes to run and then re-coil an extension cord. It takes 3-5 seconds to pull start a snow blower. Why would anyone, EVER, use an extension cord to start their machine?

Theoretically if you are strong enough to manhandle a blower around your property you should be able to pull-start it as well, no? My last snow blower didn't have it, my new one does, but I can't imagine ever using it. To me the bigger units with an on-board battery make sense because they you can just flick a switch and hit the starter button. Downside of course is that it's one more battery to keep alive...haha.

Seriously though, why do people bother?

"The first fall of snow is not only an event, it is a magical event. You go to bed in one kind of a world and wake up in another quite different, and if this is not enchantment then where is it to be found?" -J. B. Priestley

My Garage: Snapper 5/22 (dead,) 2017 Cub Cadet 2x 28"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 85 Old 01-16-2018, 03:21 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 89
Thanks (Received): 175
Likes (Given): 68
Likes (Received): 406
Garage
My 5hp I pull start, my 9 & 10hp I use the electric start because of the high compression. On the nights of snow, I keep it near the back door where's there's an outlet outside though it will start easily pulling, but just in case.

However, I have no shed, garage is full, so my equipment is kept outside under a tarp.

1986 Ariens ST522, 5hp, 22"
1995 Murray Craftsman 10hp, 29" w. 12" impeller
A 1983 Real John Deere 10hp, 32" w. 12" impeller, 16" auger, 20" high front, cast iron gear box, chains