LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 03-03-2019, 03:36 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Unhappy Toro snowblower too much oil issue

Hey....Single mom here. Can't believe that I have signed up on this forum but I need help. I have a Toro Snowmaster 724, I guess. Anyway, I have had it for the last 2 years, bought it completely new and I have been living the dream here in Colorado when it snows. This morning I was heading out to snowblow and it would not start. long story short, I thought is was a gas issue, but I added gas and nothing....when I say nothing, it would not "turn over" like it usually does..... then I added oil....and way too much I am afraid, ugh!!! I am hoping that I have not ruined it completely!! I know that I need to drain the oil and I feel like I am capable of doing that. is there anything else that I need to do?
Thank you in advance, Angela
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 03-03-2019, 03:39 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 7
Likes (Given): 3
Likes (Received): 26
Fill to full line with 5w-20 or 5w-30. Use non ethanol gas if you can get it.
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks angelagraham28 thanked for this post
post #3 of 15 Old 03-03-2019, 03:48 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thank you! obviously after I drain the oil. I read that some people on here recommend allowing the oil to drain overnight if possible? but my manual says to drain oil and then return machine to operating position. if I leave it overnight, will I ruin things further? Angela
post #4 of 15 Old 03-03-2019, 04:00 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 7
Likes (Given): 3
Likes (Received): 26
No, cold oil takes quite a while, also tilt so the drain is lower.
post #5 of 15 Old 03-03-2019, 04:03 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like