Help deciding between Honda HSS724A and Ariens Platinum SHO 24" - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 10-18-2019, 12:03 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Help deciding between Honda HSS724A and Ariens Platinum SHO 24"

Hi everyone,
I'm new to the scene. Bought a new house in NNJ with a 3-car garage and circular driveway. Flat and paved. In the market for my first 2-stage snow blower and have done a lot of research. I've decided to go with a 24" width because of storage constraints and I want something easier to maneuver. I figured I'd compensate the shorter width by purchasing a more powerful and more nimble machine to help cut the time it takes to clear the occasional snow. I'm a busy guy with a big family and not that mechanically inclined.

The Platinum Ariens SHO seemed to be the choice, but then I realized how close striking distance I was to the Honda. I know that the Honda has less power and is more money, but weighing both options.

Power: Ariens wins
Price: Ariens wins
Maintenance: Honda wins
Ease of operation (maneuverability): Honda wins (lighter, variable speed, easier turns)
Fuel efficiency: Honda wins (although I haven't seen actual numbers)
Reliability: Honda wins

Sounds like I'm leaning toward the Honda. I guess the main question is, does the reliability, ease of operation, fuel efficiency, and low maintenance compensate for the lower power for the Honda?

Many thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 10-18-2019, 02:23 PM

Location: North Dallas area and UP of MI, average snowfall 202"
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 16
Thanks (Received): 66
Likes (Given): 59
Likes (Received): 178
Maintenance, ease of operation, and reliability I would tend to dispute Honda being the winner . . .