LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 12-03-2019, 02:47 AM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 7
Thanks (Received): 2
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 3
Toro or Ariens 2-stage -- Which one?

Hi, another forum newbie here. Actually, I've been lurking for the past year and a half as I attempted to revive a 1987 Toro 826 Model 38150 that I got from a friend who was moving to Arkansas. It did get me through a couple of light storms last year, but the impeller would jam at the slightest hint of wet snow. I replaced a leaking fuel line and changed and tightened the belts at the end of the season. It seemed to run OK, so I was hopeful that it would serve me better this year. But alas, between a mouse nesting against the flywheel leading to a very hard first start (I found his legs and tail afterward) and a rusty gas tank, constantly clogging the fuel line with bits of metal, I'm ready to throw in the towel. I've got too many other projects to spend another weekend fighting this one, especially with parts getting hard to find. So, what should I replace it with?

I have a 40-ft single-car-width asphalt driveway, that widens to 2 car widths for the last 15 feet before the garage. The entire length is on a moderate slope. We get a fair amount of snow. Typical storms drop just 2-6", though we get an occasional whopper, like the 18 inches that fell in the latest storm. So, I do need the capability to clear the 2-3 feet of combing at the end of the driveway left by the town snow plows.