gallop - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 12-11-2019, 05:42 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 8
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
gallop

Have a blower with a Tecumseh engine that is "galloping" and don't know how to fix it. Gallop=constant rpm up and down. Does anyone know the fix for this problem? thank you, gregjo1948
gregjo1948 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-11-2019, 07:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lawrenceville NJ
Posts: 2,300
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 97
Thanks (Received): 197
Likes (Given): 76
Likes (Received): 463
Garage
It's called surging. Carb. Low mixture circuit. Clean it well or put on a new Chinese carb. Cleaning it well means removing the Welch plug on the side, spraying carb cleaner in the holes, using a welding torch cleaner to clean the holes. Take pics before you take it off. Notice the holes for the linkage.

1986 Ariens ST522, 5hp, 22"
1995 Murray Craftsman 10hp, 29" w. 12" impeller
A 1983 Real John Deere 10hp, 32" w. 12" impeller, 16" auger, 20" high front, cast iron gear box, chains
Noma 9hp, 27" w. 12" impeller
Noma 5hp, 24" w. 12" impeller, 20" high front
Gravely Convertible, 12hp Kohler cast iron, 26" width, 600 lbs of cast iron & steel, 2 speed impeller, 4 ground speeds
Dynamark 8hp, 26", 12" impeller, for sale
Several other 5hp, 8hp, several 2 cycle, all for sale
JLawrence08648 is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-11-2019, 07:40 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 8
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
I've had it off and cleaned it but, didn't remove the plug. I'll do it again and remove the plug. Can I reuse the plug? thanks, gregjo1948
gregjo1948 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 12-11-2019, 07:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lawrenceville NJ
Posts: 2,300
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 97
Thanks (Received): 197
Likes (Given): 76
Likes (Received): 463
Garage
Behind the plug is where the problem is. You have to drill it out then pry so it's not reusable. I buy a dozen at a time for $1 each. Cheaper in a kit from Amazon than at the parts store. A mower repair store may have extras in a bag. Check there. After installed with a hammer and punch, you need to spread it out to seal, you then do a complete seal with nail polish along the edge. A welder's tip cleaner is $2-$3.

1986 Ariens ST522, 5hp, 22"
1995 Murray Craftsman 10hp, 29" w. 12" impeller
A 1983 Real John Deere 10hp, 32" w. 12" impeller, 16" auger, 20" high front, cast iron gear box, chains
Noma 9hp, 27" w. 12" impeller
Noma 5hp, 24" w. 12" impeller, 20" high front
Gravely Convertible, 12hp Kohler cast iron, 26" width, 600 lbs of cast iron & steel, 2 speed impeller, 4 ground speeds
Dynamark 8hp, 26", 12" impeller, for sale
Several other 5hp, 8hp, several 2 cycle, all for sale
JLawrence08648 is online now  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-11-2019, 07:51 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 8
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
I have tip cleaner but a little low on nail polish.
gregjo1948 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-12-2019, 03:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakeville, MN
Posts: 81
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 7
Thanks (Received): 4
Likes (Given): 10
Likes (Received): 9
I'd 2nd the idea of just replacing the carb with a cheap Chinese one. They are typically <$15 and they work just fine. I prefer getting the ones with the adjustable mixture screw.
59ctd is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-12-2019, 04:12 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 8
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
I got a new carb for $13.09 with free shipping. Installed it, started the engine, adjusted the mixture screw, and grinned ear to ear. Can't believe I wasted so much time trying to clean and adjust the old carb. I have another Tecumseh running poorly and surging so, I ordered another new carb for that one too. Thank you guys for the help. gregjo1948
gregjo1948 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-12-2019, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Lakeville Ma
Posts: 2,040
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 81
Thanks (Received): 212
Likes (Given): 66
Likes (Received): 767
I don't bother putting much time into cleaning anymore.....I have several 8-10 hp carbs on the shelf all the time and at least one 5-7 hp carb....
cranman is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes orangputeh liked this post
post #9 of 9 Old 12-12-2019, 08:15 PM
Senior Member
 
orangputeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: lake tahoe
Posts: 4,654
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 763
Thanks (Received): 236
Likes (Given): 1584
Likes (Received): 1680
Garage
I hate waste so take the time to clean OEM Honda carbs. works almost every time.

but that's just me cause I have the time.

for most other people I agree that a new carb is time saving.

"It Feels Like Beer O'Clock "
orangputeh is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome