LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 01-20-2020, 11:41 AM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
MTD snowblowers

Hello - I'm pretty new to the SBF forums and have really enjoyed reading some of the older posts and educating myself on everything snowblower. Quick question - I often hear reference to MTD snowblowers. What brands are all considered to be under the MTD umbrella? Is the general consensus that MTD snowblowers are lower quality?

I inherited a simplicty that is probably 10 years old but had very minimal use and was in great shape. Is simplicity under the MTD brands?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 01-20-2020, 12:03 PM
Super Moderator

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 591
Thanks (Received): 773
Likes (Given): 4374
Likes (Received): 1743
Garage
MTD is a good snowblower if you take care of it and do preventative maintenance. We tend to bash it and it's cousins a bit and it's not really fair as there are an awful lot of them out there and they start, run, blow snow and then wait patiently for the next snow without problem. They aren't the worst, they are made for the homeowner who is cost conscious so nothing is overbuilt but IMHO if you can't afford the better quality machines they are still way ahead of shoveling and should last a decade or two with proper care. My 11 yr old Troy-bilt (MTD) 24" is still running up and down a 300' gravel driveway and I have no complaints.

What MTD makes is a difficult question as it depends on the year. MTD re-brands machines for different labels and has also swolled up a number of companies over the years. This is only a list of the different divisions: Cub Cadet, Troy-Bilt, Remington, Robomow, Rover, Wolf-Garten, Columbia, Yard Machines, Bolens - - > https://www.mtdproducts.com/equipmen...cts/our-brands

If I'm not mistaken MTD itself is or has been bought up by Stanley Black & Decker.