LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 11-11-2014, 05:02 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Troy-built Vortex 3x or Cub-Cadet 3x?

hey trying to search reviews for the Troy-built Vortex 2490 vs Cub Cadet 3x24swe both 24 inch versions.

Any opinions when coming to both companies or these specific snow blowers. Basically had to return my 24 inch 2xcub cadet we version cause the Chute was just crap.

So trying to make a decision on these two they are both around a thousand, troy built is a littler cheaper. I'm completely new to snow blowers so dont know which brand is better overall.

Any help would be great thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 11-11-2014, 05:08 PM
Super Moderator

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 61
Thanks (Received): 336
Likes (Given): 148
Likes (Received): 762
The machines are basically identical except for paint.
both are made by MTD.
Cub Cadet and Troy-Bilt snowblowers havent been different for many decades.
All MTD's are essentially the same, just painted up for different brand names.

if there are any differences, they will be minor things like different dash panel layouts and perhaps slightly different "styling"..
but for the same size and HP rating, the guts of the machine will be essentially identical, no real differences to speak of.

Scot

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 16 Old 11-11-2014, 05:33 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 139
Thanks (Received): 269
Likes (Given): 371
Likes (Received): 910
I'm betting they rolled off the same assembly line. Different paint booth.

Joe

Sent from my junky old Hisense 7" tablet that I can barely see.
Toro 724
Toro CCR 3650E
Toro 5/21 sold
Ariens 5/22 ss ..Sold
Ariens Sno Tek 7/24 sold.