Stator Equipped? - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 11-30-2014, 11:36 AM Thread Starter
GMH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Mb
Posts: 155
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 6
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 41
Stator Equipped?

How can I tell If my blower (simplicity 8560E1) has a stator to run lights without tearing it apart? There is no mention of it anywhere in my owners manual that I could find. There appears to be a black wire coming out of a hole in the casting near the fly-wheel. Could that be the feed? Thanks for any info.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	100_2883.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	193.4 KB
ID:	28313   Click image for larger version

Name:	100_2886.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	193.5 KB
ID:	28321   Click image for larger version

Name:	100_2889.jpg
Views:	142
Size:	182.7 KB
ID:	28329  

Last edited by GMH; 11-30-2014 at 11:36 AM. Reason: add
GMH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 11-30-2014, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 259
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 4
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 16
Put a multi meter I the wire while the engine is running. Check for both ac or dc voltage. Most times its ac but can be dc I think.
cdestuck is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 11-30-2014, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Normex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Near Ottawa Ont
Posts: 1,371
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 52
Thanks (Received): 85
Likes (Given): 27
Likes (Received): 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by GMH View Post
There appears to be a black wire coming out of a hole in the casting near the fly-wheel. Could that be the feed? Thanks for any info.
You may have to dig a bit deeper to find out, in your middle pic can you pull on the rubber boot and see if the wires are coloured like yellow?
And if so like cde mention check for ac voltage or dc with a needle like prong of course with engine running.

Snow Removal Apparatus I own:
Ariens ST1530DLE, and good ole arm powered scrapper.
The 15 HP is a new Ducar engine sold
by Princess Auto in Canada.
Normex is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 11-30-2014, 03:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Grunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: New Lenox
Posts: 2,194
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 274
Thanks (Received): 330
Likes (Given): 3321
Likes (Received): 677
As others have stated, put a meter on the red connector and see what type of voltage you have and if it is AC or DC. I suspect it will be 12 volts DC at 5 amps output according to this Briggs illustration and the regulator you have hose clamped to the starter motor.

Toro 8/24 (38080) 1989
Toro 721-QZR (38743) 2015 (Hemi Predator Power)
Toro (51984) Hand Held Blower (For the light stuff)

Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Last edited by Grunt; 09-10-2015 at 03:55 PM.
Grunt is online now  
post #5 of 15 Old 11-30-2014, 03:55 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Coldwater,MI 49036
Posts: 19
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Grunts got it-that is a voltage regulator/bridge rectifier the red lead will be 12volt out. Make sure to not overload that circuit.
pweerc is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 11-30-2014, 04:04 PM Thread Starter
GMH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Mb
Posts: 155
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 6
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 41
Thanks, that is exactly what I need. I am about to fire it up for a little cleanup and will check the red wire. If it is DC, I should be able to connect an LED light directly to it and not need the bridge rectifier mentioned in the "upgrade to LED Lights" sticky thread correct?
GMH is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 11-30-2014, 05:38 PM Thread Starter
GMH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Mb
Posts: 155
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 6
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 41
OK. I am reading 13.8 volts +/- at the red wire at full throttle. How can I tell how many watts/amps I can draw?

Last edited by GMH; 11-30-2014 at 05:41 PM.
GMH is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 11-30-2014, 05:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Grunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: New Lenox
Posts: 2,194
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 274
Thanks (Received): 330
Likes (Given): 3321
Likes (Received): 677
You can use your meter IF it has an amperage position- OR - You can trust the Briggs rating of 5 amps as shown in the illustration. The regulator in your picture is showing a capacitor which should mean voltage is filtered. Superedge and Coby are the electrical wizards in this regard and will hopefully chime in. Check the amp draw on the light(s) you plan on using and install an inline fuse holder with a fuse of 5 amps or less to protect the stator.

Toro 8/24 (38080) 1989
Toro 721-QZR (38743) 2015 (Hemi Predator Power)
Toro (51984) Hand Held Blower (For the light stuff)

Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Last edited by Grunt; 11-30-2014 at 06:09 PM. Reason: Add after thought.
Grunt is online now  
post #9 of 15 Old 11-30-2014, 06:53 PM Thread Starter
GMH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Mb
Posts: 155
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 6
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 41
Thanks. the regulator/rectifier is part #698102, which seems to have been replaced by part #698315. I am trying to find specs on it, as the wire and plug colors coincide with a 5 or 9 amp regulated system according to an old B&S manual I have.
GMH is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 11-30-2014, 07:02 PM
Senior Member
 
POWERSHIFT93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PARADISE CITY, MN
Posts: 9,600
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 508
Thanks (Received): 379
Likes (Given): 291
Likes (Received): 1377
YEAH that is set up for a light.

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MAHALO!!!!!!!!!
POWERSHIFT93 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome