LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 Old 12-11-2014, 05:44 AM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 11
Likes (Given): 9
Likes (Received): 30
H60 Tecumseh runs very poorly

I have an old Ariens, probably late 60s or early 70s. It has a well worn H60 Tecumseh. It fires right off but runs poorly, firing very intermitantly and finally stops. It restarts right off and does the same thing.

First, let me say that I am a boat mechanic with 40 years in the business; and I have some fairly extensive personal experience with small four stroke power equipment. This one has me temporarily stumped, though!! What I CAN say:

Fuel system: Tank is clean, filter is clean, good flow available to carb. Carb has been cleaned and preset adjustments to 1 1/2 open. From there, I have messed with them either way, to no avail. Sitting at rest, not running, there is no overflow. Pulling float bowl off and operating float by hand, gas flows and stops as it should. Float level is parallel to housing. No fuel trapped in float. New mounting gaskets were installed and they are oriented correctly.

Ignition system: Tried three different plugs, including one brand new one. Condenser leak tests excellent on a magneto analyzer. Points have been cleaned like new and adjusted to .020". When engine runs, an inline neon spark checker never falters, even when engine is clearly not firing.

Fuel: No water in gas that is visable. It IS ethanol fuel but it's only a few weeks old.

Power head: 120 psi compression. Valve clearance about .008 on both valves.

Spark plug condition: Engine will run correctly for about 10 seconds on a clean plug; then it starts its bad stuff. Pull the plug and it is pretty black, right away.