Snowblower switch not working - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 03-05-2015, 08:47 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 18
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Snowblower switch not working

Hello all. I have an older True Value Snow Chief - 21 inch, 3hp Snowblower. When I attempt turn it off it still runs. I know it maybe fruitless trying to locate a new switch , so I was considering putting in a toggle switch. There is only a green wire going to the switch. If i were to use a toggle switch, how would I hook it up? Would I have to hook the green wire to the positive side and make a ground to the body and hook it up to the negative side? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Levaughn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 03-05-2015, 08:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Central MA
Posts: 81
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 13
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 2
The switch doesn't care about polarity but yes, that's how you would wire it.

Shorting the "green" wire to the frame will kill the ignition.

What does the current switch look like?
AandPDan is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Kiss4aFrog liked this post
post #3 of 21 Old 03-05-2015, 09:03 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,137
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 510
Thanks (Received): 681
Likes (Given): 3844
Likes (Received): 1478
Garage
Try to get something weather resistant as a "normal" switch from an auto parts store, big box, hardware ... is likely designed to be inside.

NTE 54-527W Waterproof Rocker Switch SPST : Rocker Switches | RadioShack.com

Or a toggle switch with the rubber cover


.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Grunt liked this post
post #4 of 21 Old 03-05-2015, 09:18 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 18
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Thanks for the input. The old switch has a short key. I can't really describe it cause I'm not too familiar with switches. I will seek out a waterproof switch
Levaughn is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 03-05-2015, 09:32 PM
Senior Member
 
micah68kj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: S. C. Pa. 39.755928, -77.577766
Posts: 4,875
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 139
Thanks (Received): 269
Likes (Given): 371
Likes (Received): 910
Doesn't matter at all how you wire it. One way it'll run the other way it won't. Heck. If you wanted to you could even use a light switch like you have in your house.

Joe

Sent from my junky old Hisense 7" tablet that I can barely see.
Toro 724
Toro CCR 3650E
Toro 5/21 sold
Ariens 5/22 ss ..Sold
Ariens Sno Tek 7/24 sold.
Old green plastic snow shovel... Sent.to shovel Heaven
Old quarry shovel for ice.
New.green shovel
micah68kj is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 03-05-2015, 09:35 PM
Senior Member
 
scrappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 537
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 39
Likes (Given): 36
Likes (Received): 91
Old school.. kill switch.

It works... Fail rate is 0 for every 100,000,000 ever made.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	kill switch.JPG
Views:	72
Size:	242.5 KB
ID:	45281  
scrappy is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 03-05-2015, 09:36 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,137
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 510
Thanks (Received): 681
Likes (Given): 3844
Likes (Received): 1478
Garage
I've never understood why they use key switches (children??) but it's likely a standard diameter and you could if you wanted, get one from any other brand snowblower. Just take yours in with you to compare diameter.
I'd just go with the toggle or you could eliminate the wire and just use the throttle if the throttle still kills the engine. You have options

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is online now  
post #8 of 21 Old 03-05-2015, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 407
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 29
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 66
Lev.. The two prong toggle really isn't a + and - per say, You can hook the green wire to either side and other side to ground. The on/off plate won't be right so just discard. I 'might' have a used original.. I use to have a one-wire key switch. It just grounds the green wire when in 'off' through the housing and into frame where it is mounted. Usually uses big star type washer when mounted.
Geno is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Kiss4aFrog liked this post
post #9 of 21 Old 03-05-2015, 10:06 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,137
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 510
Thanks (Received): 681
Likes (Given): 3844
Likes (Received): 1478
Garage
Or . . . if you like those little touches, take a file or a Dremel and grind off the little tab so you can rotate the plate to line up with the switches "ON" and "OFF"




.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is online now  
post #10 of 21 Old 03-05-2015, 10:25 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Newington, CT
Posts: 2,029
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 32
Thanks (Received): 92
Likes (Given): 446
Likes (Received): 148
to turn it off for now, choke the engine and prime it until it stalls
43128 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome