Hello from Westchester, NY Need help choosing a blower - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 03-07-2015, 11:28 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Hello from Westchester, NY Need help choosing a blower

Hi,A newbie here, I'm hoping I can get a little help. I am the furthest thing from a motor head. I just destroyed my first snowblower by not checking the oil (yes, stupid me)and it's seized up. The repair shop tells me it's not worth fixing. It's too bad because it was fine for my needs. It was a Craftsman 28" with tracks. I got it used and had it four seasons. I have a long driveway, maybe a tenth of a mile, and then it winds around the house and gets real wide when it gets to the two car carport, so even the oil truck can turn around. And it's got two pretty steep hills, and both bend, and both are where the sun never shines. The local shop that told me the machine isn't worth fixing also says I don't need tracks. They've seen it when they picked it up. Whadya think? Wheels with chains will work?

And whadya think about this?
SNOW BLOWER MTD 10HP 33"PATH
or this?
Snow Blower

Thanks all, for any advice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 03-07-2015, 11:36 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 122
Thanks (Received): 116
Likes (Given): 254
Likes (Received): 137
Hello Canoejon, sorry I can't be of any help, but I can offer you a hearty, WELCOME ABOARD!!
post #3 of 17 Old 03-08-2015, 12:41 AM
Super Moderator

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 510
Thanks (Received): 681
Likes (Given): 3844
Likes (Received): 1478
Garage
Welcome to the forum Canoejon

If your drive is fairly flat you might be better served with tires and no chains. Depending on the hills tires should be ok but how did you feel using the tracks ?? Newer tires have very good grip and the chains tend to shake the machine.