LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 09-21-2016, 02:54 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
What affects time to clear an area?

I'm seeing other posts that deal with size vs power, but I feel like nobody really talks about speed... but maybe I'm missing someting obvious? I'm new to the idea of snow blowers [always had a plow growing up].

Basically I moved to a new house where I have about 4000 sq foot of concrete to clear [14x130' drive and 45x45' pad leading to the garage]

I'm debating between a cheap plow on the truck or a blower, but I wonder how long it would take to clear with a blower? Are there any guidelines or factors to consider? ...does the couple inches between a 26 and 30" blower really matter...

Typical annual snow fall is 30+/- 20 inches. Most snow accumulation is 2-3 inch with the occasional 8 to 12 inch storms.

Thanks for any advice
Dan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 09-21-2016, 03:05 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 94
Thanks (Received): 84
Likes (Given): 219
Likes (Received): 134
My $0.03

Dan, welcome aboard! Do you ever feel like you'd run out of places to put the snow if you had a bad winter and were plowing? Being able to throw snow up and over banks can be a concern for us during a bad winter. My neighbors have plow guys and the piles have grown so huge during some winters that they've lost access to their garage(s).

For me, the plow guys in past years have done way too much damage for my liking. Therefore, I have snow blowers.

Time wise? Hard to say. My drive is a bit longer than yours. However, I have to deal with 400' of sidewalks. So, I might be out there for a couple hours dealing with the clean up from a bigger snow fall. OTOH, if I need to get out the door, I might set myself a time limit of 30 minutes and deal with the balance when I get home from work.

2014 Ariens 21" Path Pro 938030
2015 Ariens 24" SHO 921038 | poly skids