First time snowblower buyer/operator - need advice - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 09-27-2016, 12:35 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
First time snowblower buyer/operator - need advice

Hi - i am glad that I found this forum as it is filled with lots of useful information. I have finally decided to buy a snowblower. I'm 58 and I don't want to go through another winter of shoveling. I live on Long Island and while we don't get huge amounts of snow we usually get at least 3 heavy storms each winter.
I have pretty much narrowed my choice down to Ariens Deluxe 24 or Platinum 24.
My concern is that I have never used a snowblower before. I'm a bit nervous about operating these things. Are these machines too much to handle? Should I be doing any "practice" runs with it on dry pavement before the winter arrives?
Any advice for a brand new user is appreciated.
Thank you
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 09-27-2016, 01:19 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 12
Thanks (Received): 38
Likes (Given): 11
Likes (Received): 63
post #3 of 11 Old 09-27-2016, 11:32 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 46
Thanks (Received): 35
Likes (Given): 81
Likes (Received): 61
Welcome IslandGuy -
I live in CT on the coast so my weather is much like yours. Some years almost nothing, some years we get a half dozen or more major accumulations.

It may be intimidating to watch that auger at work, but remember you'll be on the back end of that beast and they're designed to be operated by average people like you and me. It's a good idea to familiarize yourself with the controls, and use it in an open space before you gain the confidence to operate close to other objects. However I wouldn't advise you to put a whole lot of use on the machine without snow, because they're designed to operate with the load and lubrication the snow adds.