LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 11-07-2016, 09:50 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Steep Drive Needs to Be CLEAN!

Hi, all! And thanks for helping out. I have a lot of experience running snowblowers up north but my new situation is a bit scary. I'm in the mountains of western NC where we get snowed in about one week each year on average. This is scary because my wife and I are of an age where access to emergency services is important. I no longer have the stamina to clear even 6" of snow off our 500 foot drive, and nobody around here wants that sort of work. Because snow is uncommon, driveways around here can be VERY steep. Mine is uncomfortable to walk down even when it's dry. Any slickness makes it impossible to walk or drive safely. I've read that tracked snowblowers are best for climbing hills, but that they don't clean to the bare surface as well as some wheeled ones. That concerns me because if the drive isn't scraped bare, it's treacherous even in my pac-boots. Is there any good solution for this problem or should we just move out when snow is forecast?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 11-07-2016, 10:05 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 89
Thanks (Received): 70
Likes (Given): 306
Likes (Received): 137
I would be looking at a track drive for sure at least it will help pull you up to the house. Three come to mind and you have to pick the price point and size that would be best. In no real order Ariens Compact Track 24, Husqvarna ST 327T, and Honda. I have used a track machine for 18 years but have not used any of the 3 I listed. Hope I got the correct links on here..

2014,TORO 1128 OXE Power Max HD

Last edited by Hanky; 11-07-2016 at 10:13 PM.
post #3 of 8 Old 11-08-2016, 02:10 AM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Received): 5
Likes (Given): 4
Likes (Received): 4