LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 11-24-2016, 02:03 AM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 13
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 19
Left over Ariens

I have a new Ariens 24" deluxe on layaway,it's a left over from last year.i hope to pick it up this weekend.i was wondering if the factory skid shoes are sufficient for a blacktop driveway,or do you guys recommend poly ones? I've never tried auto turn before,I thought a few years ago when auto turn came out there was issues with it,just wondering if that's still the case..also what's the recommendations for breaking it in.thanks

2017 Ariens 24 deluxe 921045
2005 Ariens 8526 932105(sold)
Ariens ss522 (sold)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 11-24-2016, 07:59 AM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 52
Thanks (Received): 125
Likes (Given): 79
Likes (Received): 168
On winter 2016/2017 (the current new model this season in Ariens 2016 catalog) Ariens models the company revised the axle position on Deluxe and Platinum machines, it is now closer to the auger housing in an effort to remedy auto turn issues and give the machine better balance.

Last year's model has the previous axle position where people sometimes had issues with the machine squirreling down from side to side, more common on rough/uneven surfaces. The poly skids are thicker than the steel ones and help the machine glide over rough spots similar to ArmorSkids. I have them on my machine along with a weight kit and have not had issues with Auto Turn. I have a blacktop drive w/pavers at the EOD. I looked at the poly skids as a cheap insurance policy and they won't scratch decorative surfaces. You can see them on the second vid under my signature.

I hope you are getting a good discount on last year's model.