post #1 of 11 Old 11-24-2016, 12:35 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 12
Thanks (Received): 106
Likes (Given): 107
Likes (Received): 250
This is a addiction

As the title says, I just cant stop looking for snowblowers to fix LOL
Well I was gifted a I'm guessing around a 90 ish (label is unreadable) MTD 5/24 and purchased a new carb, installed and this engine runs really well (Tecumseh 5hp) BUT it was revving way to high, Anyhow I started playing with the throttle screw to no avail and then doing slight adjustments to the governor arm and I have it running at what by ear is a good RPM but I really need to buy a tach, but for now it will do and was able to adjust the carb seeing I got one with needles instead of fixed jets, The big issue now is at full it runs great but as soon as I throttle down a little it just shuts down so no idle and the idle mixture has no effect, So I think the governor may be playing a big part in this. Messing with a governor is pretty new to me. My worry is that maybe the weights may not be moving free as they should but no heat in the garage so need to work on it in warmer weather. These snow blowers have been a great learning experience thus far but I seem to have 5 snow blowers in my garage ATM and really need to start moving these things LOL One is my original Snapper 6/22 that runs great and may be keeping a while longer, My backup 3.5hp single stage, A Toro 521 I got cheap and repaired for the girlfriends house, A old craftsman 5/23 I got for $20 I figured I would use for parts but I now have all the parts to put it back together when I have time and my brother will take it for cost (he is my brother after all) and now this MTD. Might use it for the winter but may also sell it if someone has money that needs a cheap one and put that to getting a newer one but I want to keep the budget around $400-$500 for a good used one that doesn't need a ton of work. Then I may sell the Snapper after I find one I can depend on. I