Engine oil level switch HS1132 Help !!!! - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 01-12-2020, 08:54 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Engine oil level switch HS1132 Help !!!!

Hi, I just used my HS1132 and saw engine oil coming out a hole on right side of engine case (see photos). What I found on the web is that hole is for the engine oil level switch and I think some models simply don't have it cause I saw absolutly no free connector or cut wire near that hole so...
I checked on Honda snowblowers parts suppliers web pages but found nothing. I found something in the shop manual and made a screen shot (included).
My engine is a GX340.
Does anybody know about a plug for that hole when we don't have a switch? A part number? Anything that could help?
I can't use my snowblower as long as it stays like that

Thank's
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200112_131321.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	201.0 KB
ID:	162457   Click image for larger version

Name:	20200112_131346.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	234.4 KB
ID:	162459   Click image for larger version

Name:	Oil level switch.PNG
Views:	18
Size:	99.0 KB
ID:	162461  
HS1132928 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 01-12-2020, 09:20 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
I found something else. Apparently they all had the oil level switch and mine had it removed (i bought my snowblower used at the end of last winter) and they left the hole opened or the wire had been cut, I lost the nut and the connector fell inside
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	oil level switch2.PNG
Views:	10
Size:	243.4 KB
ID:	162463  
HS1132928 is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 01-12-2020, 09:27 PM
Senior Member
 
orangputeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: lake tahoe
Posts: 4,160
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 716
Thanks (Received): 206
Likes (Given): 1327
Likes (Received): 1341
Garage
dealer may have plug otherwise you could fashion one.in a pinch . or use a golf tee if it will stay in LOL. perhaps you could tap the hole and use a carb bolt with rubber seal washer.

honda snowblower engines don't have the oil switch ( I haven't seen any on over 250 I have worked on ) for some reason but the generator engines do.

"It Feels Like Beer O'Clock "
orangputeh is online now  
post #4 of 22 Old 01-12-2020, 09:33 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Thank's you are giving me hope !!! I tought I would have to open the engine to put back the connector at it's place. ****


Altought it will take a huge golf tee cause the hole is around 3/8 of an inch lol
HS1132928 is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 01-12-2020, 09:41 PM
Senior Member
 
tabora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Posts: 1,116
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 42
Thanks (Received): 195
Likes (Given): 118
Likes (Received): 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by HS1132928 View Post
What I found on the web is that hole is for the engine oil level switch and I think some models simply don't have it cause I saw absolutly no free connector or cut wire near that hole so...
I checked on Honda snowblowers parts suppliers web pages but found nothing.
Snowblower engines don't have oil level switches, since they get tilted when in use. You are expected to check the oil level before each use. The level switch is used in stationary applications like generators and pumps.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HS1132928 View Post
I found something in the shop manual and made a screen shot (included).
My engine is a GX340. Does anybody know about a plug for that hole when we don't have a switch? A part number?
@HS1132928 and @orangputeh I think the plug is probably a press-in when the engine is not being used in an application that can support an oil level sensor.

The float switch is mounted inside the crankcase and has a 10mm hollow bolt containing the sensor wire that comes out through that hole with a 10mm flange nut on the outside. I think you'll have to open it up and put a 10mm bolt through there with fiber washers to seal it.

Last edited by tabora; 01-12-2020 at 10:10 PM.
tabora is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes orangputeh liked this post
post #6 of 22 Old 01-12-2020, 09:42 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Thank's
HS1132928 is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 01-12-2020, 09:57 PM
Senior Member
 
orangputeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: lake tahoe
Posts: 4,160
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 716
Thanks (Received): 206
Likes (Given): 1327
Likes (Received): 1341
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by tabora View Post
Snowblower engines don't have oil level switches, since they get tilted when in use. You are expected to check the oil level before each use. The level switch is used in stationary applications like generators and pumps.


I'll search for a plug...
good to finally know why they don't have them. get asked that question every once in awhile. I'd think the dealer would have that plug .

what do you think he could use inthe meantime @tabora?

"It Feels Like Beer O'Clock "
orangputeh is online now  
post #8 of 22 Old 01-12-2020, 10:42 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
I will try to find something to plug the hole from the outside cause its a heck of a job to open the case ot plug that 🤬
HS1132928 is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 01-12-2020, 11:26 PM
Senior Member
 
tabora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Posts: 1,116
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 42
Thanks (Received): 195
Likes (Given): 118
Likes (Received): 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by HS1132928 View Post
I will try to find something to plug the hole from the outside cause its a heck of a job to open the case ot plug that 🤬
Carefully measure the outer diameter of that hole and get a freeze plug of that diameter and use a hammer and dowel to seat it in there, perhaps after coating it with some Permatex?

Oh, and make sure your crankcase breather hose is clear; something caused that plug to pop out...

Last edited by tabora; Yesterday at 01:24 AM.
tabora is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes orangputeh liked this post
post #10 of 22 Old 01-12-2020, 11:28 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Yes I will do that. Thanks
HS1132928 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome