Halogen to OEM LED..it's easy! - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 12-19-2016, 11:28 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 15
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 1
Halogen to OEM LED..it's easy!

Hi Everyone,

I just thought I would post this up here. I have been looking to upgrade the stock halogen light on my 10530SBE for some time now. After reading the LED upgrade thread I was almost ready to pull the trigger and go the route that others did with the rectifier, caps, etc.

Then I looked at some of the newer models at my local Husqvarna dealer (not the big box store) and noticed that the wiring and the housing unit for the new LED's appeared to be the same as mine.

With that in mind I ordered a replacement LED light from RepairClinic.com (part number 3133400 https://www.repairclinic.com/PartDet...684202/3133400) for $26.00 and popped the old one out and the new LED unit in. I used the same wiring harness and everything. I fired the unit up and IT WORKED! No additional hardware needed and no noticeable "flickering" in the light.

https://www.snowblowerforum.com/forum...=94178&thumb=1

I'm guessing that these newer LED units have some sort of built in bridge rectifier already on the PCB. I will try and get some night shots later this week.

Now the question is....do I try to mount a second one? I'm not sure if the unit's electrical system is capable of supporting two. The new LED's don't come with any specs so I have no idea how much current they are drawing.

https://www.snowblowerforum.com/forum...=94186&thumb=1

Thoughts?


Thanks everyone for your help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Single LED 2.jpg
Views:	134
Size:	420.7 KB
ID:	94178   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dual LED 2.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	772.5 KB
ID:	94186  
mannyj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 12-20-2016, 09:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Cardo111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: The Lower Hudson Valley, NY
Posts: 1,052
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 52
Thanks (Received): 125
Likes (Given): 79
Likes (Received): 168
Well done, guess it's not always necessary to reinvent the wheel.

Ariens Platinum 24 SHO w/369cc carbureted LCT motor


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Cardo111 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 12-20-2016, 10:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 105
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 18
Thanks (Received): 7
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 8
Garage
Kind of a ballpark swag, based on the size of the LED packages, I would estimate each LED to be about 1W, so adding some loss in the rectification and regulation, I would say the entire unit draws 10-12W.

I tried looking for the original lamp's power consumption, but no luck:
Headlight: Husqvarna 532 17 86-66 Oem Headlight, Halogen 532178666 | Electrical, Battery, Wire & Bulbs | Husqvarna | www.www.baileysonline.com.com
Bulb: Husqvarna 532 40 16-20 Oem Bulb.Headlight.Halogen. 532401620 | Electrical, Battery, Wire & Bulbs | Husqvarna | www.www.baileysonline.com.com

If you have a multimeter, you should be able to measure the current draw of each and compare. But, to be honest, I would probably go for it. I think 20-30W is reasonable for the original Halogen.

Another way to look at it could be to look at your alternator's output and calculate whether it's within limits. A quick search for your model yielded this page. Looks like there are different alternators available (one is a DC output!). Husqvarna Snowblower Parts

Something else to consider, would adding the second headlamp create additional (possibly annoying) shadows with the chute right in front of it?

Good luck!
EdwardC is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 12-20-2016, 10:54 AM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,232
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 522
Thanks (Received): 690
Likes (Given): 3912
Likes (Received): 1505
Garage
Have you tracked down the specs on the charging system to see how many amps or watts it can support ??

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 12-20-2016, 10:07 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 15
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 1
Thanks guys for the replies and suggestions. It's been frustrating to try and track down any details specific to my particular machine. As EdwardC pointed out there seems to be variations within the model line on the engine and components.

I read somewhere initially (I think it may have been the Tecumseh site who manufactured the engine for this machine) that this was a 3 amp system but I am not certain of that.The OEM halogen bulb is a ph1156 which seems to be rated at 12.8 Volt /2.1 Amp /26.88 Watts.

I do have a basic multimeter and thought about testing the output of the electrical system with the machine on but I must admit that I am bit of a noob with the multimeter and I am unsure as to what to set the dial to on the meter itself.

My biggest concern would be in over taxing the electrical system and burning it out. Then my once fun idea of just adding some better lighting now turns into a ohh sh**t moment of now I have to take things apart to fix it.

With regards to the shadowing effect...I did think about that. I haven't had a chance to run this thing at night yet to see what the light pattern might be with just the single light in place. I do have a bit of the Tim Tool Man Taylor in me so if 1 is good then 2 is "more gooder" 😁.

Again I always appreciate the help and guidance of the community.
mannyj is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Grunt liked this post
post #6 of 16 Old 12-20-2016, 11:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 105
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 18
Thanks (Received): 7
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 8
Garage
That's useful to see that the original bulb is 2.1A/26.88W.

Your probably best off to do the current measurement of the LED unit and compare. Do you have a picture of your multimeter?

In general, what you want to do is disconnect one of the two wires to the LED unit. Then, you'll take the two leads of the multimeter and connect one to each of the two wires that you just connected. Essentially, you want the current to flow through the multimeter.

The first think you'll also need to move one of your test leads from the + jack to the current measurement jack. Then turn the multimeter dial to the current setting, there will be two current measurement settings, AC and DC. You may need to try both and see which one is higher (one will measure close to zero). If there are different current measurement levels, use the highest one.

More info:
How to Use a Multimeter

I hope that helps!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fig7_multimeter-series-measure-current.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	32.0 KB
ID:	94266  
EdwardC is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 12-21-2016, 12:02 AM
Senior Member
 
SAVAGE420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Cambie-Solsqua BC
Posts: 262
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 68
Thanks (Received): 26
Likes (Given): 136
Likes (Received): 90
Garage
Looks good to me. I think it's the same led I have in mine.
SAVAGE420 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 01-02-2017, 07:04 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Inland Northwest
Posts: 12
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
I have a 1130SB-Lsb with halogen light, that looks the same size/shape as the OEM led light swap you did. My halogen light burned out this morning, so I want to do this as well. The link you posed to the OEM led does not show the wire harness/plug. Can you take a pic and upload so I can see if this matches my plug/wire or maybe jerry-rig a connection ? Thanks in advance.

2009 Husqavarna 1130SB-LSb, Briggs & Stratton Snow MAX Series 1550, 342 cc, 15.5 ft-lb torque, electric start, traction controll triggers, heated hand grips, halogen light, x-trac tires, drift cutters.

Last edited by Svenster; 01-02-2017 at 11:39 PM.
Svenster is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 01-02-2017, 09:51 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,232
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 522
Thanks (Received): 690
Likes (Given): 3912
Likes (Received): 1505
Garage
If you put on more light than the system will support you are actually adding resistance to the circuit and what happens is the lights get dimmer but since less current is flowing you don't actually do any damage to the system. The problem would be if you had something that didn't have enough resistance then you could fry something as you'd have high current flow that could overheat the coil(s).

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 01-03-2017, 11:56 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 15
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 1
Hi Guys,

Happy New Year to Everyone. Sorry for the delay (Holidays and All). Here is a picture of the meter I currently have. It is a basic one from Harbor Freight. My biggest concern is damaging the alternator by drawing too much continous current through it.



Svenster, Here is a picture of the wires. I just used the wiring harness from the Halogen housing. They a standard spade connectors so they slide right on.



I did actually order a second wiring harness just in case but they are still on back-order from Repair Clinic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	meter.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	83.4 KB
ID:	95153   Click image for larger version

Name:	Housing back.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	100.9 KB
ID:	95161  
mannyj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome