Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
New guy, old snow blower :)

Hi all
I just was given a older Jacobsen 8hp 30" unit by my neighbor
Its all cmplete,but i suspect it may need an engine
That part is okay, but before i spend the money, i want to make sure the rest if the machine is ok, as well as understand some more about how it works(gear box,clutch??? ,etc)
I am a mechanic/engine builder and do alot of my own fabrication so im not too worried about the work but more about how it works.
I was thinking of restoring it and had a few questions, and hoped there was somebody on here who was familiar with these units
Thanks
Nick
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 08-13-2015, 01:35 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250
Most engines are connected to other parts by belts. Usually the control handles tighten or loosen the belts and that is how the clutch works. A few old designs did use chains and centrifugal clutches though.

Most snow blowers use a fiction disc for the drive wheels. Very simply design that doesn't really break. Generally you just need to clean things up and then maybe a new rubber wheel and a couple bearings.

Some older ones did have gear drive transmissions though. Best just to pull the bottom cover off and have a peek.

The front auger gearbox is the issue. Make sure the gears are good and everything spins properly. Some old ones have the augers rust to the shaft which then means the gears break instead of the shear pins when people hit stuff. That can be expensive to fix.

Please direct all snow blower questions to the forums and not to me with PMs.
post #3 of 26 Old 08-13-2015, 05:49 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 480
Thanks (Received): 341
Likes (Given): 290
Likes (Received): 1095
ALOHA from the paradise city.

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!