LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 12-30-2017, 05:20 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Exhaust Backfire on quick deceleration.

I'm an auto mechanic but not that familiar with small engines. Before I get my tools out to deal with the problem I thought I'd ask here. This is a 6 year old machine 1330SE with a 342CC engine and when I decelerate quickly it will backfire out the exhaust. If I do it slowly no issues. This has done this since brand new and I felt I'd break it in a few hours and see if it continued. We haven't had a lot of snow here over the last 4 years so usage has been seldom. Anyway I thought maybe the carb is set too rich or lean or the valves are set up too tight? Any ideas?
Thanks
Jim

Last edited by GMJim; 12-30-2017 at 06:12 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 12-30-2017, 06:20 PM
Banned

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 32
Thanks (Received): 92
Likes (Given): 446
Likes (Received): 148
if it otherwise runs fine dont worry about it. unfortunately due to epa small engine emission regulations all new small engines are set up to run run as lean as possible. the epa takes all the joy out of life! fortunately, if you have a honda clone type engine such as an lct, powermore, loncin or one of the newer briggs and stratton honda clones you can usually remove the bowl nut, and remove the brass carburetor jet and open it up a bit
post #3 of 9 Old 12-30-2017, 07:03 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 12
Likes (Received): 44
Same principles as a car engine - too lean. If it bugs you, you can probably pull the main jet and ream out the holes a bit.
post #4 of 9 Old 12-31-2017, 02:05 AM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like