JD 1032 Carb leaks gas - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 04-15-2015, 09:06 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
JD 1032 Carb leaks gas

Hi All, Just got a 1032 for $80, runs strong, but carb leaks gas when primed and when sitting(unless shut off at tank) Leak is through inlet side of carb(side with choke). I suspect this is has been a problem for a while as float bowl looks shiny and new. So I took off bowl thinking float was sticking and sprayed with cleaner. Thought this was a quick fix but no luck. Has anyone ever tried removing the float seat while carb was in place? Rest of float can easily be taken care of with carb in place but the seat is a different story. Am I on track with all this? Probably going to just rebuilt carb, but thought an old Harley trick might work. Thanks model MO1032X555452

Last edited by mikekrol; 04-15-2015 at 09:17 PM.
mikekrol is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 04-16-2015, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: colorado springs, co
Posts: 101
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 8
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 8
You can replace the seat in place but first try removing and shaking the float to see if there's gas inside it. If so, that's your problem.
cpchriste is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 04-16-2015, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
micah68kj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: S. C. Pa. 39.755928, -77.577766
Posts: 4,848
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 135
Thanks (Received): 267
Likes (Given): 358
Likes (Received): 903
Remove the carb and do it. It'll be a lot easier.

Joe

Sent from my junky old Hisense 7" tablet that I can barely see.
Toro 724
Toro CCR 3650E
Toro 5/21 sold
Ariens 5/22 ss ..Sold
Ariens Sno Tek 7/24 sold.
Old green plastic snow shovel... Sent.to shovel Heaven
Old quarry shovel for ice.
New.green shovel
micah68kj is online now  
post #4 of 5 Old 04-16-2015, 05:13 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Newington, CT
Posts: 2,029
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 32
Thanks (Received): 92
Likes (Given): 446
Likes (Received): 148
leaking gas when primed is normal on the hm80-hm110. all of the tecumsehs over 8hp ive had do it, even brand new ones
43128 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 04-16-2015, 07:02 PM
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250
Now would be a good time to add an inline fuel shut off as well. That way you will always know it won't be leaking in the garage when you aren't around to check on it.

Please direct all snow blower questions to the forums and not to me with PMs.
Shryp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome