MTD 2-stage with tight Drive Control cable - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-11-2016, 04:30 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
MTD 2-stage with tight Drive Control cable

I just bought a new MTD 2-stage 22" from Menards. When I start it, it starts to move and blades spin BECAUSE the Drive Control cable and Auger Control cable are already tight. I haven't even pushed the lever down. The wheels are locked, I can't move it freely. Moving the drive cable bracket doesn't fix it. How do I add slack to the cables?
dougjcrm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 12-11-2016, 07:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Motor City's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 639
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 44
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 50
Post the model number, so people can look at the set up. The belts are new, also. So that may account for some of it. Usually MTD has how to adjust the cable in their owners manuals.




Ariens ST11528LE
Honda HS720

Last edited by Motor City; 12-11-2016 at 08:02 PM.
Motor City is online now  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-11-2016, 08:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New Berlin, WI
Posts: 158
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 3
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 20
Sounds like it wasn't setup properly.

Take it back. They will either fix it or give you another one.

There is plenty of adjustment in the brackets. All of the cables are meant to be taught from the factory. They are taught but not engaging the the drive or auger.

Sounds like you maybe installed the handlebars in too high of a position. the lower U-bar and the upper handlebars go in at the lowest position with the bolts in the top holes. There is no adjustment to raise the handlebars higher. The lower bolt holes are for another set of carriage bolts to be used on heavy duty models. The light duty stuff has uses just the upper bolt holes assembled as I mentioned.

For reference there is no adjustability for the cables outside of the brackets that slide up and down. There are no adjustments on the cables themselves.
DennisP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome