LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 12-21-2016, 06:59 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 2
Pushing more than blowing?

MTD 10/28, not sure of the year but probably late 90s or early 2000s.

I'm pretty new to snow blowers so maybe this is normal.... while I'm running it, I get good distance out from the impeller (bolted on some rubber flaps to each vane) but it doesn't seem to collect the snow well into the auger? (Even at the slowest wheel speed and fairly light snow) Quite a bit just gets pushed to either side of the chute and I leave big windrows that I have to go over again.

Is this normal or is it something I can adjust? (Auger speed up or something?)

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 12-21-2016, 07:13 PM

Location: nova scotia-south shore - ave annual snowfall 199.4 cm ( 78.5 ")
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 73
Thanks (Received): 157
Likes (Given): 358
Likes (Received): 591
Garage
read i similiar post about that issue, any chance someone had the front end of that machine apart and put the augers on the wrong sides?

24 " 1967? Ariens Sno thro
28 " Ariens Sno Tek
Toro CCR ss
1966 Gravely LI Walk behind with dog eater

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 16 Old 12-21-2016, 07:16 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 66
Thanks (Received): 161
Likes (Given): 62
Likes (Received): 567
Either that or the shearpins are missing and not pulling the snow in...
post #4 of 16 Old 12-21-2016, 07:23 PM
Banned

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 158
Likes (Given): 95
Likes (Received): 302
If you look at the machine from the bad side (as it would be coming at you) you should see

////////// O \\\\\\\\\ not \\\\\\\ O ///////