post #1 of 8 Old 08-09-2017, 03:36 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 4
Bought older MTD, a few questions

Hello;

I realize this is my first post, and I apologize for the length. I have been lurking here for a while, and have gotten some good info -- thanks.

I just bought a second blower for my camp in north-central Maine. I have a newer Toro Powermaster 724 at home that I am generally happy with. However, my camp averages about 100 inches of snow per year vs 70 or so at home, the camp is 50 miles from home, and I want to clear about 200 feet + parking at the camp. Having a larger, second machine at camp has become important. I have hauled the Toro up there for the last two years to keep it clear, and it was up to the task (if a bit outmatched by one memorable 30 inch snowfall last year). However, it is a pain to load/unload, set the skid shoes every time I use it, etc.

The second machine I just purchased is a 2002 MTD (Yard Machine) 10 hp, 26 inch with a Tecumseh HMSK105. i like the combination of big engine, relatively narrow yet tall bucket, and 16 inch tires. Machine is in very good condition, fully functional except for the headlight (which I really don't need), no appreciable rust, no leaks, good tires, lots of life left in the skid shoes and scraper blade. It started on one pull with no smoke, no surging, etc. Based on the condition of the tires and plastic, it has clearly been stored inside its entire life. Original manuals, extension cord for e-start and spare shear pins were included in the original clear plastic hang bag, which gives me a good feeling about prior maintenance.

I have since pulled the belly pan and lubed the driveshaft, checked the friction disc and belts, changed the oil, stabilized the fuel, and lubed what I can get at. All looks good, and I plan to haul it to camp this weekend to store there (in a garage) for winter.