Surging on Idle and Load - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 01-28-2019, 10:50 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Surging on Idle and Load

I have a Yardman model number 31ae5klf701 with a Tecumseh lh358sa 159502z engine. I have replaced the carburetor with a new adjustable carburetor https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01D40658I..._-77tCbV52SY3B and brand new gaskets. Also replaced the fuel line but still having noticable surging both under load and idle. Any ideas why?
banders5144 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 01-28-2019, 10:55 PM
Senior Member
 
JLawrence08648's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lawrenceville NJ
Posts: 2,272
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 95
Thanks (Received): 194
Likes (Given): 74
Likes (Received): 449
Garage
Make sure you have no water in your gas tank and gas can then adjust the governor.

1986 Ariens ST522, 5hp, 22"
1995 Murray Craftsman 10hp, 29" w. 12" impeller
A 1983 Real John Deere 10hp, 32" w. 12" impeller, 16" auger, 20" high front, cast iron gear box, chains
Noma 9hp, 27" w. 12" impeller
Noma 5hp, 24" w. 12" impeller, 20" high front
Gravely Convertible, 12hp Kohler cast iron, 26" width, 600 lbs of cast iron & steel, 2 speed impeller, 4 ground speeds
Dynamark 8hp, 26", 12" impeller, for sale
Several other 5hp, 8hp, several 2 cycle, all for sale
JLawrence08648 is online now  
post #3 of 18 Old 01-29-2019, 12:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Dannoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 417
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 13
Thanks (Received): 19
Likes (Given): 50
Likes (Received): 124
Bad gas can do that. You might also have a defective gas cap that isn't venting properly. Does it still surge if you run it with the gas cap still on but unscrewed so it isn't airtight? If so, the culprit is the gas cap. Just buy a new one. Or you can drill a small hole into the defective one for now.
Dannoman is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 01-29-2019, 02:37 AM
Senior Member
 
vinnycom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: bolton, ont(north of toronto)
Posts: 870
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 59
Thanks (Received): 71
Likes (Given): 58
Likes (Received): 183
but did u adjust the high and low speed jets?
donyboy has a vid on that

Bought a dead but now fixed 1980ish craftsman II 10/28....ITS ONE HEAVY BEAST

MY VIDS ON FIXIN HER UP

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

vinnycom is online now  
post #5 of 18 Old 01-29-2019, 06:57 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
I only use TruFuel and I emptied out the gas tank. It surges with the gas cap on or off.
banders5144 is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 12-12-2019, 04:11 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Any other ideas? Brand new gas tank, trufuel 4 cycle gas, tries both new adjustable and fixed jet carburetor. Still surges pretty bad on idle, on full throttle not so bad.
banders5144 is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 12-12-2019, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
ST1100A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Northeast, Easton, Pa
Posts: 750
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 182
Thanks (Received): 124
Likes (Given): 313
Likes (Received): 235
Float could be out of adjustment or slow speed circuit clogged somewhere causing a lean condition. Check your valve clearance while you are at it, a tight valve could do that also.
ST1100A is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 12-13-2019, 02:10 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Even if it's a brand new carburetor? Straight out of the box?
banders5144 is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 12-13-2019, 02:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: North Dallas area and UP of MI, average snowfall 202"
Posts: 921
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 26
Thanks (Received): 84
Likes (Given): 83
Likes (Received): 240
Chinese carb? *EVERYTHING* is in doubt, since QA is often so poor. Might also check that gov linkage(s) are not binding, since that can cause it to overshoot and surge as well
tadawson is online now  
post #10 of 18 Old 12-13-2019, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
ST1100A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Northeast, Easton, Pa
Posts: 750
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 182
Thanks (Received): 124
Likes (Given): 313
Likes (Received): 235
Yes a brand new carb out of the box can have problems, a float stuck, or needing adjustments, and fuel mixture screws needing adjustments. Some brand new carbs are bad right out of the box, especially one of those super discounted carbs you have to be careful with, the super low price sometimes tells you to stay away from them.
ST1100A is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes 87powershiftx2 liked this post
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome