Does my mtd 8/26 have a light provision? - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 02-27-2013, 07:09 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Does my mtd 8/26 have a light provision?

After doing some reading I have noticed some people mention that the MTD 8/26 has a light hookup spot. Where will I find this? How do I know if mine has it? Does it have both ground and power wires?

Thanks!
bobfoe95 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 02-27-2013, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
 
69ariens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: framingham, MA Gilford,nh
Posts: 1,032
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 18
Thanks (Received): 38
Likes (Given): 53
Likes (Received): 100
It would have a 2 wire connector down by the starter.

Scott
69 ariens
toro 721r
toro 926 hd oxe
78 powerking 1614/48'' haban snowblower
69ariens is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 02-27-2013, 08:45 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
So one for a ground and one for power? Is this a 12 volt operating system then?
bobfoe95 is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 02-28-2013, 03:44 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,619
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 139
Likes (Given): 14
Likes (Received): 326
Light

On the engines I've had, if there was provisions for a light then there were extra magnets on the flywheel and a different stator on the motor.

They can be added but you're talking retiming the engine when you replace the stator (DAMHIK). Not for the faint of heart.
HCBPH is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 02-28-2013, 03:52 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
I found a single wire under the gas tank and above the starter. Only one, so I assume this is the power. Where should I ground them?
bobfoe95 is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 02-28-2013, 03:56 PM
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobfoe95 View Post
I found a single wire under the gas tank and above the starter. Only one, so I assume this is the power. Where should I ground them?
To anything metal.
Shryp is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 02-28-2013, 04:52 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Bare metal? And is this a 12v system? I have 2 lights that are 12v 55 watts.
bobfoe95 is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 02-28-2013, 04:58 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melfort Saskatchewan
Posts: 6
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Even if you have a stator I doubt it would put out enough power for one 55 watt light never mind two.It looks like most blower look to be in 27 watt zone.
mrbill is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 02-28-2013, 05:32 PM
Member
 
Laker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Philly Main Line
Posts: 65
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
^^+1 You might consider a LED bulb. For example mine takes a 27 watt 1156 which is available in low wattage LED versions. Haven't tried a LED, so it may or may not work, just an idea.
Laker is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 02-28-2013, 05:58 PM
Senior Member
 
69ariens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: framingham, MA Gilford,nh
Posts: 1,032
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 18
Thanks (Received): 38
Likes (Given): 53
Likes (Received): 100
My mistake, It's one wire. Your light may still work as the old style lights were incandescent light and they used more power. If not just change the bulb from 55to 27

Scott
69 ariens
toro 721r
toro 926 hd oxe
78 powerking 1614/48'' haban snowblower
69ariens is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome