Choke problem? - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 12-28-2015, 08:04 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ontario canada
Posts: 12
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Choke problem?

Hi all! I'm new here but quickly have a question! I have a new MTD 600 series snow blower. 208 cc It runs way to rich and rough! Is there anyway to adjust the choke? I'm a 2 hour drive away from the place I bought it and don't really want to return if there is an easy adjustment! Thanks in advance:-). Smokes and smells of gas. Never reaches more than about 500-600 rpm
Mikeurock7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 12-28-2015, 08:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: nova scotia-south shore - ave annual snowfall 199.4 cm ( 78.5 ")
Posts: 2,325
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 73
Thanks (Received): 157
Likes (Given): 369
Likes (Received): 597
Garage
the choke knob/button does nothing ??

24 " 1967? Ariens Sno thro
28 " Ariens Sno Tek
Toro CCR ss
1966 Gravely LI Walk behind with dog eater

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nwcove is online now  
post #3 of 19 Old 12-28-2015, 08:26 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,146
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 511
Thanks (Received): 682
Likes (Given): 3849
Likes (Received): 1480
Garage
It's a pretty basic setup, nothing to adjust. Either you can feel it clicking through 3-4-5 positions or not.
I can only guess that somehow it's not connected and it's "ON" all the time.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MTD choke linkage.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	153.6 KB
ID:	69745  

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is online now  
post #4 of 19 Old 12-28-2015, 08:29 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ontario canada
Posts: 12
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Choke knob does work. When I close the choke it get worse and dies. Floods out! I have speed control on full. If I slow it down it dies as well!
Mikeurock7 is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 12-28-2015, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: nova scotia-south shore - ave annual snowfall 199.4 cm ( 78.5 ")
Posts: 2,325
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 73
Thanks (Received): 157
Likes (Given): 369
Likes (Received): 597
Garage
if you are sure the choke is fully open and the blower still runs like carp.......save yourself some aggravation and take it back. jmo

24 " 1967? Ariens Sno thro
28 " Ariens Sno Tek
Toro CCR ss
1966 Gravely LI Walk behind with dog eater

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nwcove is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Kiss4aFrog liked this post
post #6 of 19 Old 12-28-2015, 09:01 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ontario canada
Posts: 12
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
That's what I was afraid of but didn't want to overlook an easy fix! I should have started it there but had no gas. Thanks
Mikeurock7 is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 12-28-2015, 09:26 PM
Junior Member
 
Optical_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Rochester, NY (HSS928AAT)
Posts: 20
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 2
Before taking it back in, at least check the air filter for any clogs or incorrect installation.
Optical_Man is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 12-28-2015, 09:33 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ontario canada
Posts: 12
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Ok I will. Does cover snap off? Or bolted on. Don't want to damage it if it has to go back! Thanks
Mikeurock7 is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 12-28-2015, 09:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: nova scotia-south shore - ave annual snowfall 199.4 cm ( 78.5 ")
Posts: 2,325
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 73
Thanks (Received): 157
Likes (Given): 369
Likes (Received): 597
Garage
no air filter on a ( most) snowblower, but be cautious about taking stuff apart, as it could void any warrantee. ( adding fuel could void warrantee....which makes no sense to me)

24 " 1967? Ariens Sno thro
28 " Ariens Sno Tek
Toro CCR ss
1966 Gravely LI Walk behind with dog eater

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nwcove is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Kiss4aFrog liked this post
post #10 of 19 Old 12-28-2015, 10:35 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,146
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 511
Thanks (Received): 682
Likes (Given): 3849
Likes (Received): 1480
Garage
Being an MTD it doesn't have an air cleaner. I don't know of any OEM that installs a filter unless the machine has been re-powered. If you look to the left of the choke knob on the rounded corner you'll see two acorn nuts. Those hold the plastic cover to the carb and the carb to the engine. It's like my Troy (also MTD) and it's a pain to get that cover off.
I've been in there three times trying to cure my surging problem, don't ask !! You need to pull the chute, the starter button and the square cover on top, to the left of the muffler. If you look close you'll see the panel that has the choke and throttle controls covers the whole back end over the recoil and wraps around on both sides.
If it's under warranty best to let them tackle it as you likely have a carb float issue. Since they aren't adjustable, someone will likely need to remove and dissemble the carb to cure your running rich issue, sorry

When I say "pain" to get to it's just that it's a lot more trouble than a regular Tecumseh and IMHO it seems more trouble than it needs to be.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MTD carb plastic cover.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	31.3 KB
ID:	69761  

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Kiss4aFrog; 12-28-2015 at 10:50 PM.
Kiss4aFrog is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome