Auger belt too loose; pops every time disengaged - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 02-04-2016, 03:22 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: King of Prussia
Posts: 7
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Auger belt too loose; pops every time disengaged

I have one of the 27" E2784-000 models that is a very common system, same as many MTD, Craftsman and other models.

Just this year, the auger belt is really loose and jumps off the larger auger pulley when I disengage the hand control

Everything looks aligned
The bearings do not appear to be shot (no play in the auger pulley if I try to push it.

I have a new correct 585416 v belt on it.

I can actually roll the belt over the large pulley when the tensioner is adjusted.

The tensioner arm doesn't LOOK like it is traveling more than it did; there are no wear marks to judge this however.

ideas? Maybe the belt is too long? it is actually a Murray part and has the part number on the belt

There is no obvious source of play in the system

I'm not missing any belt guides (looking at part diagrams to confirm)


I'm stumped! Thanks or any help!
Geezer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 02-04-2016, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
 
bad69cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 1,237
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 88
Likes (Given): 127
Likes (Received): 277
typically there should be a belt guide that prevents it from coming up above the pulley - maybe it's missing or loose? (Looks like a bent wire rod)




I am deathly allergic to shovels!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bad69cat is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 02-04-2016, 03:33 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: King of Prussia
Posts: 7
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
there are two small guides on the small motor mounted pulley. no problems there.

There was never any guides on the large auger pulley.

I should not be able to put the belt back over the large auger pulley without loosening the tensioner...it's just too loose
Geezer is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 02-04-2016, 03:47 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,145
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 511
Thanks (Received): 682
Likes (Given): 3849
Likes (Received): 1479
Garage
You mention you have a "new correct belt on it". Did this problem start after putting on the new belt ??

Is that belt number physically on the belt itself ??


.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Kiss4aFrog; 02-04-2016 at 03:52 PM.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 02-04-2016, 04:19 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: King of Prussia
Posts: 7
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
yes, the part number is on the belt and sleeve and are the right part number

When I prepped the blower for the blizzard two weeks ago, The belt that was on it popped off the auger pulley and got fubar when it popped off the pulley (so it was too big). I usually have two auger belts in with my shear bolts and misc parts so I may have just put the belt that got messed up on at the end of last season after the last usage. I do not remember. The belt was in very good shape.

There is nothing on the diagram or on the unit that looks likes it limits the travel of the auger tensioner so I do not think there is wear and the tensioner is traveling "too far"

I probably got the two belts from the same place and they were both Murray OEM.

The belt that got messed up seems to be the right length

If you look on the next page of the parts diagram, the tensioner arm doesn't have any adjustment or wearing parts


The auger housing is not cracked or rusted

there is no adjustment on the motor/gear box chassis to auger housing




---still stumped and until now I thought of myself as reasonably mechanically inclined. I may have to turn in my "man-card"

Last edited by Geezer; 02-04-2016 at 04:22 PM.
Geezer is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 02-04-2016, 04:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 112
Likes (Given): 13
Likes (Received): 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geezer View Post

---still stumped and until now I thought of myself as reasonably mechanically inclined. I may have to turn in my "man-card"
No, don't turn in any cards yet. You will find a solution, it might just take a bit of time for all the others to read this thread and have an "ah ha" moment.

Work fascinates me.
I can watch somebody work for hours...
2008 Craftsman 944.528391 (It's a Husqvarna ST227P)
27", B&S 305cc 13.5 ft/lb Torque 9.5 hp
skutflut is online now  
post #7 of 15 Old 02-04-2016, 06:46 PM
Sid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: LI NY
Posts: 498
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 10
Thanks (Received): 23
Likes (Given): 28
Likes (Received): 33
Try a 1/2" shorter belt. If you don't get it dirty, you can take back.
Sid

'66 Sears/Murray 26"
'71 Jakobson 17 SnowBlitz
Sid is online now  
post #8 of 15 Old 02-04-2016, 11:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: New Richmond, QC, Canada
Posts: 192
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 4
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 10
ive had issues with blower belts popping off before.. and for me it was the idler pulley bearring being shot... would slooowly tighten the nut holding itself and bam! cause problems.. so do check the idler pulley.. does it spin freely and smoothly?? does it wobble?? is there an adjustment on it you may have had to loosen up and didnt quite tighen down enough this time?? the tensionner spring on the cable ( if your handle does have that) is it tighten properly(does it tighten at least midway to engaging the augers)?

if everything checks out. then for some strange reason.. you have the wrong belt lenght on there..

1984 Columbia 10hp-33in
2015 Columbia 420cc 28in 3xHD
Marty013 is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 02-06-2016, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 121
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 2
Likes (Given): 3
Likes (Received): 4
Looking at KFrog's diagram, the number looks like 585415 for part #63 identified as Belt, v-4 aug. drive.
Pythons37 is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 02-06-2016, 05:39 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: King of Prussia
Posts: 7
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
so...

I got a 1/2 38" V Belt from Grainger (the OEM belt is nominally 38 3/8")

I put that on and the while the belt didn't pop, the auger pulley wobbled like a drunken sailor.

I ordered these part numbers
49562 and two 313873

Other suggestions?

Geezer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome