LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 02-15-2017, 05:05 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 52
Thanks (Received): 53
Likes (Given): 105
Likes (Received): 72
Tractor Belt slippin under load

I am in my 3rd year of using my Predator repower and decided to install the original friction plate pulley (~5.75 dia) to speed up the tractor drive. I felt my speed options were too slow with the 8" friction plate pulley and a 2.5" top pulley.

I am now happy with the tractor speed options but the belt is slipping under load. I did install a new 3L belt from Tractor Supply. I modified the tensioner so it is tight but it will still slip around the top pulley while under a normal to slightly higher than normal load. I did change the top pulley from a 2.5 to a 2" diameter to get a suitable wheel speed.

To solve this I am thinking of going with a Kevlar belt and possibly go back to the 2.5" pulley so I have more surface contacting the belt. Is my thought process sound?
I was gong to try some belt dressing but that is only a band aid and will wear off fast enough. Plus my can would not spray!

Am I missing anything? Any other thoughts?
Thanks!

Current machines
Ariens 926LE

Yard Machine 22" upgraded with 6.5 HP Predator
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 02-15-2017, 05:10 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 61
Thanks (Received): 155
Likes (Given): 52
Likes (Received): 544
I would hazard a guess it has less to do with gear ratio and more to the belt not matching the pulley enough....
post #3 of 11 Old 02-15-2017, 06:14 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 18
Thanks (Received): 38
Likes (Given): 53
Likes (Received): 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by cranman View Post
I would hazard a guess it has less to do with gear ratio and more to the belt not matching the pulley enough....
Thats what i am thinking too. May be the belt you bought is not wide enough

Scott
69 ariens
toro 721r
toro 926 hd oxe
78 powerking 1614/48'' haban snowblower