LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 01-06-2015, 09:43 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Tecumseh HMSK80 seized engine

Hi all, newbie here and 1st post. Have reviewed the site and read a number of posts and was delighted to find so many people willing to help others.

Accidently ran my snowblower without oil and engine seized but was restarted easily after filling crankcase. After restarting, found motor had little power and wouldn't rev up well. Also noticed fair amount of pressure coming from oil fill tube. Have partially dismantled engine and noticed cylinder wall has minor markings which I figure could be honed out. Haven't yet gone into the crankcase to check con rod or bearings etc.
This engine is 19 years old and was running very well before mishap. Now wondering if it's worth repairing or if parts are still available.

Any suggestions would be very welcome
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 01-06-2015, 09:48 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 9
Likes (Given): 7
Likes (Received): 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiffy View Post
Hi all, newbie here and 1st post. Have reviewed the site and read a number of posts and was delighted to find so many people willing to help others.

Accidently ran my snowblower without oil and engine seized but was restarted easily after filling crankcase. After restarting, found motor had little power and wouldn't rev up well. Also noticed fair amount of pressure coming from oil fill tube. Have partially dismantled engine and noticed cylinder wall has minor markings which I figure could be honed out. Haven't yet gone into the crankcase to check con rod or bearings etc.
This engine is 19 years old and was running very well before mishap. Now wondering if it's worth repairing or if parts are still available.

You have a new boat anchor......put your good cash toward a replacement engine.