New member with old Toro 724, auger belt too loose? - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 10-26-2015, 09:04 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
New member with old Toro 724, auger belt too loose?

Hi all,

Name is Sam and I'm a new member. Thank you for having such good info on this forum. It's been very helpful with me swapping over the old Tecumseh on a '79 Toro 724 to a Predator 212CC. Ran into a problem with the auger belt that I didn't seem to have with the old setup and wondering if anyone has had the same:

My auger belt is EXTREMELY loose.. like, so loose that I don't think adjusting it at the clevis would help, as the opposite side of the arm the tensioner pully is mounted on is hitting the frame of the snowblower when fully engaged as it is. The way it is now, it just barely engages the belt and starts the drum turning(lots of slack and slapping against the little belt guide bar).. think if I was actually running it through wet snow it would start slipping.

Has anyone here that has done this repower experienced this? Could it be that my auger belt is just plain worn beyond use? Doesn't seem to me that this would be the case as it was okay with the old h70 on it, but to be honest, I didn't even look at the belt tension before I pulled off the belt and pully.

Any suggestions on what I might have missed?

Thanks in advance for any help/advice,
Sam.
SpAmSoNiTe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 10-26-2015, 09:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 135
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 33
Thanks (Received): 14
Likes (Given): 21
Likes (Received): 19
Hi Sam and welcome to the group. You are right to say there's a lot of good info on this site.

As for your belt would a shorter one, say a size smaller, be the simplest way to 'fix' the problem?
BullFrog is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks SpAmSoNiTe thanked for this post
post #3 of 9 Old 10-26-2015, 09:40 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,131
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 509
Thanks (Received): 680
Likes (Given): 3834
Likes (Received): 1474
Garage
Welcome to the forum Sam


If the height from the engines base to the crankshaft center line is shorter for the predator you need a shorter belt. That or you could add a couple washers under the engine to lift it up and tighten the belt that way.

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks SpAmSoNiTe thanked for this post
Likes gsnod liked this post
post #4 of 9 Old 10-27-2015, 12:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Shrewsbury, MA.
Posts: 249
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 56
Thanks (Received): 18
Likes (Given): 111
Likes (Received): 19
Yep, sometimes when we repower with a Predator, the shaft is either too high or too low, requiring a different belt. I get most of my belts from NAPA, although Tractor Supply also has them. Take the old belt with you and get someting about an inch shorter and try it out. As long as you don't run it, NAPA will take it back if you don't know the size and buy several sizes.
gsnod is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks SpAmSoNiTe thanked for this post
post #5 of 9 Old 10-27-2015, 12:22 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Newington, CT
Posts: 2,029
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 32
Thanks (Received): 92
Likes (Given): 446
Likes (Received): 148
i had the same issue with my 824(same machine with a slightly bigger engine). turns out the predators crank sits lower them the tecumseh crankshaft
43128 is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks SpAmSoNiTe thanked for this post
post #6 of 9 Old 10-27-2015, 05:35 AM
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250
Most blowers have a slit in the pulley that tightens the belt. You can adjust it that way in addition to adjusting the linkage between the frame and the handle bars.

Also make sure you put the pulleys on correctly. Generally the drive wheel pulley is a little smaller than the auger pulley.

Please direct all snow blower questions to the forums and not to me with PMs.
Shryp is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks SpAmSoNiTe thanked for this post
post #7 of 9 Old 10-27-2015, 05:57 AM
Super Moderator
 
bwdbrn1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Peninsula, MI Near Manisitque
Posts: 3,149
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 553
Thanks (Received): 234
Likes (Given): 584
Likes (Received): 604
Welcome to SBF. Glad to have you join us here.

I'm pretty much retired from the forum thing, but I check in every now and then.
bwdbrn1 is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks SpAmSoNiTe thanked for this post
post #8 of 9 Old 10-27-2015, 08:30 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Thanks for the replies and welcomes all...

I was wondering if that were the case with the Predator shaft being in a slightly different location.. I'm going to pick up another belt to try and correct my issue today. Picked this old guy up in the summer last year for $35 running(ish), and after using it this past nasty winter, decided I will NEVER go back to shoveling my approx. 100ft. driveway again!(neighbor used to plow us out until the frame on his old truck broke).

~Sam.
SpAmSoNiTe is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 10-27-2015, 02:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,416
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 112
Likes (Given): 13
Likes (Received): 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpAmSoNiTe View Post
Thanks for the replies and welcomes all...

I was wondering if that were the case with the Predator shaft being in a slightly different location.. I'm going to pick up another belt to try and correct my issue today. Picked this old guy up in the summer last year for $35 running(ish), and after using it this past nasty winter, decided I will NEVER go back to shoveling my approx. 100ft. driveway again!(neighbor used to plow us out until the frame on his old truck broke).

~Sam.
Hmm, why doesn't your neighbour get his truck fixed?? That would REALLY make it easier
skutflut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome