Sno-Tek 24 Starting Trouble and Oil Leak - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-17-2017, 11:02 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Sno-Tek 24 Starting Trouble and Oil Leak

Hello Everyone...

I am new to this forum and just to let the readers know that I am new to using these devices (Snowblower, Lawn mower, leaf blower etc.) as a new home owner. I bought a new Sno-Tek 24 from HomeDepot in Oct 2015 and used it during 2015-2016 winter season few times and it worked fine. I live in Southern Connecticut.

After the season, based on suggestion from my neighbor, I put Sta-Bil before storing it away. I also started it once during the summer for a few minutes just to ensure everything is fine.

This winter during the first snow, I started and it worked fine for about 10-15 min and then it would just start running and stop no matter what the choke position.

- I realized my mistake and changed the engine oil (5W-30) that had turned pitch dark and lost viscosity.
- Then I checked the spark plug, which had a lot of carbon, cleaned it too.
- After watching a couple videos on youtube, opened up the carburetor and cleaned it best to my understanding.
- After doing all this when I tried starting it, it did start and was sputtering on full choke. At less choke it was stopping.

So I drained all the old fuel and put in fresh fuel.
After that when I started it, it was ran for 10 min. but was backfiring on the exhaust and then stopped on it own.
Today morning I saw that there was some Oil Leakage, just on the right side of the left tire. The oil drain is not in that area at all.

A couple days back after trying to make it run, when storing it, I had SHUT OFF the gas supply knob. So I don't think this should be gas, it most certainly is oil.
Not sure where it is dripping from though ? Any ideas on where the oil would leak from in that area ?