Strange black stuff coming from belt area - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 12-23-2016, 08:31 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Strange black stuff coming from belt area

Sorry I am an extreme novice when it comes to small engines, or engines in general so I may not know all the right terminology.

I have a powersmart 22in snowblower that I had gotten last year. It worked great all 2 times I used it last year, and worked great the first time I used i this year.

The second time however about 1/2 way through clearing the snow it started getting clogged almost instantly. The clog would clear, start to work again but if I moved too fast it would get clogged again.

I checked and the augers were spinning a little slow and the impeller was barely moving at all. Next I took the cowling off to check the belts, they seemed fine not misaligned or frayed at all so put that back on and raised the tension on the auger cable a bit. This brought it back to life, worked better than ever but it was making a very loud noise. I fixed this by spraying it with WD-40 (the auger and impeller) which the manual suggested but I ignored anyway.

Now my problem is along the cowling there is a strange black almost powder seeping out. Not much, but it is there. Inside the cowling itself it seems to be coated with it, I cannot remember if it was like that before or not.

The belts themselves don't seem to be coated with it but the belt pin (if I am correct on what it is) seems to be slightly coated with it. I checked and the belt pin does have clearance with the belt both when it is engaged and when it is not.

The substance itself is hard to explain. My fear was that it was burnt up rubber from the belts. It is not grease like in terms of lubrication but at the same time very hard to get off your hands not unlike graphite (but not graphite I know what that is).