adjusting the idle screw, Crafstman 536.881800 B&S OHV 12E114 0268 E1 - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-02-2017, 05:51 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 71
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 50
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
adjusting the idle screw, Crafstman 536.881800 B&S OHV 12E114 0268 E1

Hello,

I just finished replacing the carburetor on my snowblower with this kit,
Carburetor 594014 ($59)

The repair went pretty smoothly but I find that I don't know what to do with the idle adjust screw. Out of the box, the screw was all the way out. On the one I removed, it was ~1.5 turns from all the way in. This is a different carb, so I'm not sure what to do.

It wouldn't really run in the out of the box position, so I turned it in quite a bit and now I can start it. I'm not sure what the position of the choke should be when I adjust it. I can just turn it until the engine starts running worse and then back off some, but there must be a procedure for this so I thought I would ask.

I don't have a tach or anything like that, so I guess I would have to do the adjustment my ear.

Suggestions would be appreciated.

LMHmedchem
LMHmedchem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-02-2017, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
e.fisher26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 533
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 39
Likes (Given): 28
Likes (Received): 50
The carb is different??


-efisher-
e.fisher26 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-02-2017, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: nova scotia-south shore - ave annual snowfall 199.4 cm ( 78.5 ")
Posts: 2,313
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 73
Thanks (Received): 157
Likes (Given): 358
Likes (Received): 592
Garage
if its just the idle screw that holds the butterfly slightly open.....set it by ear after the engine is up to operating temp.

24 " 1967? Ariens Sno thro
28 " Ariens Sno Tek
Toro CCR ss
1966 Gravely LI Walk behind with dog eater

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nwcove is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks LMHmedchem thanked for this post
post #4 of 7 Old 01-02-2017, 08:11 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 71
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 50
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by e.fisher26 View Post
The carb is different??
The machine is ~10 years old and they don't make the OE part anymore. The replacement is a universal of some kind from the same manufacturer (B&S). It is very similar but not quite the same. I don't imagine that the difference is anything an engineer would worry about, I just don't know if the idle screw setting would be exactly the same as on the original. I also don't know that the original was in the right place anymore either since I never adjusted it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nwcove View Post
if its just the idle screw that holds the butterfly slightly open.....set it by ear after the engine is up to operating temp.
What position should I have the choke in when I make the adjustment? I would start it with the choke closed and then after a minute or so it starts to run a bit rough, so I open it one notch. I don't really remember running it any more open than that, perhaps the next notch over at some time.

Did they have to mount the screw in the only place on the carb where the gas line is in the way of using a screwdriver to adjust it? I swear being a moron is a prerequisite for being an engineer these days.

LMHmedchem
LMHmedchem is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-02-2017, 08:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Motor City's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 638
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 44
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 50
With that machine, it always runs at 3600 rpms. So you can just leave the idle screw alone You set the engine speed by the governor and the governor spring. Mark the hole the spring went into on the governor lever. Use the heaviest spring in the kit and install it in place of the old spring. Your going to need a tach, to set the engine speed. You bend the tab at the other end, the spring attaches to, to fine tune the engine speed. You also need to drill out the choke lever hole on the carb cover. With the new knob, its a larger diameter.

GDI Tach / Hour Meter with FLASH ALERT Service Intervals for Mowers, ATV's 1011 | eBay




Ariens ST11528LE
Honda HS720
Motor City is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks LMHmedchem thanked for this post
post #6 of 7 Old 01-02-2017, 09:42 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 71
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 50
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motor City View Post
With that machine, it always runs at 3600 rpms. So you can just leave the idle screw alone You set the engine speed by the governor and the governor spring. Mark the hole the spring went into on the governor lever. Use the heaviest spring in the kit and install it in place of the old spring. Your going to need a tach, to set the engine speed. You bend the tab at the other end, the spring attaches to, to fine tune the engine speed.
Adjusting the idle screw made quite a different in how the engine ran, it wouldn't even start when I left it in the position it came in. I thought about leaving the original governor spring there because it looked in good condition but I ended up putting on the heavier one as you suggested in your earlier post. It seems like it would be a pain to have to adjust something under the gas tank with the engine running. How would I get at it? $42 for a tach is reasonable I guess but isn't something I am likely to use very often.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Motor City View Post
You also need to drill out the choke lever hole on the carb cover. With the new knob, its a larger diameter.
I just used the old knob. It seemed to fit onto the new carb just fine. I thought the extras in the box were for a different model or something like that.

LMHmedchem
LMHmedchem is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-02-2017, 10:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Motor City's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 638
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 44
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 50
I have someone hold the tank for me and I bend the tang, to the proper rpm. There are some cheaper ones on Amazon. Just need to read the reviews, so your not buying junk. There was a thread somshere on here, that a guy bought one pretty cheap and had a decent price.




Ariens ST11528LE
Honda HS720
Motor City is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome