post #1 of 2 Old 01-19-2017, 05:00 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 96
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 75
Likes (Received): 460
Garage
List of improvements that can be made

InI signed up a few days ago but I've been reading the posts for about a month. I went back and looked at all 118 pages of posts reading the posts which were of interest to me which was 1-7 posts on a page. Every night while watching tv and in bed while wife slept. She knew I was nuts so that did not matter. Long time ago she has stopped asking the question "Why?"

I'm a very good mechanic and fix or do everything myself, car, house, equipment. Have I learned anything? I learned and am shocked how many people keep really old snowblowers from the 60s and 70s. Boy they are built, not like the crap today, but I know this from a little repair side business I have. I read Duplicolor may be the paint to use. I'm also surprised the number of people that use an ultrasonic cleaner, including myself. I've been using Berryman's Chem-Dip for soaking and in the ultrasonic cleaner, and last week I bought NAPA's carb cleaner for soaking. I will see how that works. I'm surprised the number of people that use Predator engines from junky Harbor Freight and there are good reviews! I'm surprised that the 208cc Predator engine is enough to drive a 32"! I don't understand that at all.

What improvements can be made to your snowblower:

with a tach you can raise the rpms on the snowblower not to exceed 3,600 rpms max

you can change the engine crankshaft pulley but this is a give and take, you get something, you give something up

Add a shut off valve if you don't have one

Motorcycle gas filters are small and cheap

If you live in an area that gets alot of snow, drift cutters are nice. You can buy them or make them. I made them from PVC fence post that I found along the street