LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 01-25-2017, 11:12 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 7
Thanks (Received): 3
Likes (Given): 4
Likes (Received): 5
Briggs ignition retrofit a good idea?

I have two 7 hp Briggs engines on Toro 726 blowers.

Neither engine has much if any spark. I expect these have points and condenser under the flywheel.

Wondering if people here would advise servicing the existing setup or installing an electronic module and, if so which of various alternatives you might suggest.

For me pulling a flywheel is something I've done many times before, so it's a bit of a pain but not a big deal. Still, more work than just installing a module or the Briggs trigger coil setup.

Some have reported that the retrofit modules require a higher cranking speed to make spark, or that they fail too often. I have no direct experience.

Thanks for any guidance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 01-26-2017, 07:31 AM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 508
Thanks (Received): 380
Likes (Given): 291
Likes (Received): 1384
398811 IS the part number for the HEI set up. gut the old points and other stuff out of there 2 screws hold it in the air gap .010 use a business card to set the air gap.that is BRIGGS part number by the way.

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

MAHALO!!!!!!!!!
post #3 of 12 Old 01-26-2017, 08:28 AM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 88
Likes (Given): 127
Likes (Received): 280
No more effort required to start it than the old set up..... just a different way of making the spark. I think you will find it starts much easier and runs more consistent as well...... win-win

I am deathly allergic to shovels!

post #4 of 12 Old 01-26-2017, 10:33 AM

Post Thanks / Like