Cant get John Deere 828D to start, help appreciated. - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 Old 01-27-2017, 03:58 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
Cant get John Deere 828D to start, help appreciated.

Hi All,
So I've just been fortunate to get a JD 828D machine free of charge!

Its not been used since last winter and was stored without any gas in it. Ive cleaned it up and it looks as good as new, just needed 2 new tires on which i picked up from Amazon.

Ive been trying to start it but not having much luck. I'm getting a good spark and gas is getting TO the carb but its just not firing up. I believe its the Tecumseh engine and have had a look around youtube and online but to no avail.

Would appreciate any help in trying to trouble shoot it
Thanks


Last edited by fcat; 01-27-2017 at 05:02 PM.
fcat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 Old 01-27-2017, 04:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: nova scotia-south shore - ave annual snowfall 199.4 cm ( 78.5 ")
Posts: 2,410
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 82
Thanks (Received): 173
Likes (Given): 418
Likes (Received): 664
Garage
wow....that is clean ! have you tried a shot of starting fluid in the intake to see if it will make a kick to go ?

24 " 1967? Ariens Sno thro
28 " Ariens Sno Tek
Toro CCR ss
1966 Gravely LI Walk behind with dog eater

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nwcove is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Kiss4aFrog liked this post
post #3 of 28 Old 01-27-2017, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: framingham, MA Gilford,nh
Posts: 1,037
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 18
Thanks (Received): 39
Likes (Given): 53
Likes (Received): 100
If it has good spark most likely carb.
That is a nice ariens painted green

Scott
69 ariens
toro 721r
toro 926 hd oxe
78 powerking 1614/48'' haban snowblower
69ariens is offline  
post #4 of 28 Old 01-27-2017, 04:33 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,849
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 589
Thanks (Received): 770
Likes (Given): 4358
Likes (Received): 1741
Garage
to SBF fcat

I'd go for a small squirt of starting fluid to see if she pops.
When you pull it over does it feel like there's good compression ??

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
post #5 of 28 Old 01-27-2017, 04:34 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
Thanks for the replies, haven't tried starting fluid, can i just remove the carb and fire a bit of gas in the intake or should i get a can of starting fluid ?

I was tempted to just order a new carb on Amazon for 15 bucks and just replace it anyways.
fcat is offline  
post #6 of 28 Old 01-27-2017, 04:39 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiss4aFrog View Post
to SBF fcat

I'd go for a small squirt of starting fluid to see if she pops.
When you pull it over does it feel like there's good compression ??
Thanks for the welcome yeah when i pull the manual cord there's definitely compression
fcat is offline  
post #7 of 28 Old 01-27-2017, 04:44 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,849
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 589
Thanks (Received): 770
Likes (Given): 4358
Likes (Received): 1741
Garage
I'd look in the throat of the carb and make sure the throttle plate is opening as you open the throttle, set the throttle to hi, choke off/open, splash a little gas in the throat and close the choke and see if she fires up.
Always nice to have a can of starting fluid around and a bit easier and safer than trying to splash gas sideways into the throat but you gotta do what you gotta do.

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
post #8 of 28 Old 01-27-2017, 04:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: nova scotia-south shore - ave annual snowfall 199.4 cm ( 78.5 ")
Posts: 2,410
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 82
Thanks (Received): 173
Likes (Given): 418
Likes (Received): 664
Garage
if you go the splash of gas route ( a bit dangerous), i have had luck carefully putting a teaspoon or so directly in the plug hole, that was the only way my old 10.5 hp tech would start at the beginning of every season, was always fine after that.

24 " 1967? Ariens Sno thro
28 " Ariens Sno Tek
Toro CCR ss
1966 Gravely LI Walk behind with dog eater

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nwcove is online now  
post #9 of 28 Old 01-27-2017, 04:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: framingham, MA Gilford,nh
Posts: 1,037
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 18
Thanks (Received): 39
Likes (Given): 53
Likes (Received): 100
I don't think I would trust a carb for $15. Also check fuel lines even and the primer line as well .

Scott
69 ariens
toro 721r
toro 926 hd oxe
78 powerking 1614/48'' haban snowblower
69ariens is offline  
post #10 of 28 Old 01-27-2017, 04:53 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
I just ordered a new carb from amazon, couldn't not do for 15 bucks! Gonna go get some starting fluid first thing in the morning and get this thing running i can always return the card to Amazon if the existing one just needs cleaning.

Quick question, the key switch on it, it has a single wire to it, Im getting a spark whether the key is turned to the right or the left, is this correct ? is it just a kill switch and ground something out to cut it out ?
fcat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome