10hp Tecumseh problem w gas lever only 1 speed - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 02-07-2017, 08:45 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lawrenceville NJ
Posts: 2,300
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 97
Thanks (Received): 197
Likes (Given): 76
Likes (Received): 463
Garage
10hp Tecumseh problem w gas lever only 1 speed

In September I bought a used Craftsman 29" 10hp 536.886332 engine 143.961001 HM100.

It was sitting for years and ran very rough and only at full choke. After disassembling the carb, it was about as bad as could be.

I completely rebuilt the carb, dip tank, ultrasonic cleaner, rebuild kit with needles, replaced both Welch plugs, used torch tip cleaners.

Yesterday I started it for the first time since September when I bought it. The engine runs so smooth now but only at one speed. I don't remember if the throttle worked or not when I bought, I was more interested keeping the engine running and determining if there was value buying it as it needed 2 chute collars and the bracket and both wheels were rusted on but other indicators showed little use, no scrapper bar or skid shoes wear. I paid $185.

But now it only runs at one speed no matter what position the throttle level is at. I attached 2 pics and a video of running. The high speed adjusting screw is not touching the stop. The spring inside appears to be working. Can this throttle lever be taken apart and something moved, then why should it? Is it fixable or I buy a new lever? When the carb was off the governor seemed to be adjusted correctly, and now also.

And the problem is?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170206_160615_1486475039960.jpg
Views:	142
Size:	104.3 KB
ID:	99441   Click image for larger version

Name:	20170206_160536_1486475065041.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	106.5 KB
ID:	99449  
JLawrence08648 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 02-07-2017, 09:04 AM
Senior Member
 
micah68kj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: 39.755928, -77.577766
Posts: 5,151
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 178
Thanks (Received): 308
Likes (Given): 468
Likes (Received): 1047
I replaced a Tecumseh carb a cohple years back and when I tried to throttle it up it did the same thing. It was due to improperly installed linkage but I can't remember exactly what it was. Double check it. It's not a hard fix.

Joe
Sent from my wife's old Toshiba
Ariens 921001
Toro 38074- sold
Toro CCR 3650E-sold
Toro 5/21 sold
Ariens 5/22 ss
Ariens Sno Tek 7/24 sold.
Old green plastic snow shovel... Sent.to shovel Heaven
Old quarry shovel for ice.
New.green shovel
micah68kj is online now  
post #3 of 13 Old 02-07-2017, 09:06 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lawrenceville NJ
Posts: 2,300
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 97
Thanks (Received): 197
Likes (Given): 76
Likes (Received): 463
Garage
I tried to attach a video and see it did not attach. I attached it from my phone the same way I attached the pics and it did not post. I could not find a way to attach it using my phone or tablet by editing it. Suggestions?
JLawrence08648 is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 02-07-2017, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,431
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 112
Likes (Given): 13
Likes (Received): 298
I think i remember seeing a Donyboy73 video on youtube showing a fix to this problem with that style of throttle control. Gotta be linkage or governor spring adjustment in that throttle bracket.

Does it run at high speed so its usable, and if so and what happens when it hits a load?

Work fascinates me.
I can watch somebody work for hours...
2008 Craftsman 944.528391 (It's a Husqvarna ST227P)
27", B&S 305cc 13.5 ft/lb Torque 9.5 hp
skutflut is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 02-07-2017, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Walpole MA
Posts: 463
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 20
Thanks (Received): 56
Likes (Given): 78
Likes (Received): 115
It appears from the pix, that the linkage is improperly installed. From what I can see, the linkage that goes from the throttle to the governor, is flipped 180* down. I'm thinking the carb must be removed and the arm holding the linkage to the governor, should be resting against that little high speed adjusting screw. That is common and will give you those symptoms. GLuck, Jay
JayzAuto1 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 02-07-2017, 09:55 AM
Senior Member
 
micah68kj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: 39.755928, -77.577766
Posts: 5,151
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 178
Thanks (Received): 308
Likes (Given): 468
Likes (Received): 1047
]
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayzAuto1 View Post
It appears from the pix, that the linkage is improperly installed. From what I can see, the linkage that goes from the throttle to the governor, is flipped 180* down. I'm thinking the carb must be removed and the arm holding the linkage to the governor, should be resting against that little high speed adjusting screw. That is common and will give you those symptoms. GLuck, Jay
Yep! This is what happened to me. I remembered must as soon as I ead your post.


And I just see that this is post #4000 for me.
When do I get my special pin? Do I get a sticker or something?

Joe
Sent from my wife's old Toshiba
Ariens 921001
Toro 38074- sold
Toro CCR 3650E-sold
Toro 5/21 sold
Ariens 5/22 ss
Ariens Sno Tek 7/24 sold.
Old green plastic snow shovel... Sent.to shovel Heaven
Old quarry shovel for ice.
New.green shovel
micah68kj is online now  
post #7 of 13 Old 02-07-2017, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ma.
Posts: 2,246
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 127
Thanks (Received): 195
Likes (Given): 469
Likes (Received): 816
Agreed JZ...Carb linkage needs to be Above the Gas Line.
Jackmels is online now  
post #8 of 13 Old 02-07-2017, 11:24 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lawrenceville NJ
Posts: 2,300
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 97
Thanks (Received): 197
Likes (Given): 76
Likes (Received): 463
Garage
It's raining right now so later today when it's expected to stop I will remove the throttle lever and see if I can change things around. I had taken the throttle lever off of the housing when I removed the housing to clean the rust off the flywheel magnets as part of my initial prep to bring things up to snuff initially.

The engine is not running real fast but not slow, if I had to take a guess high med rps but I'm afraid the governor is not going to be working right when under a snow load.

When several posters responded reminding me of the gas line and linkage goof, I remembered I had done the same thing last year on another blower and when I changed it around, it solved the problem. Later let's see if it's the same problem and I will respond back with my findings. Thanks for your generousity on this post and other posts by all!

Last edited by JLawrence08648; 02-07-2017 at 11:27 AM.
JLawrence08648 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 02-07-2017, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
micah68kj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: 39.755928, -77.577766
Posts: 5,151
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 178
Thanks (Received): 308
Likes (Given): 468
Likes (Received): 1047
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLawrence08648 View Post
It's raining right now so later today when it's expected to stop I will remove the throttle lever and see if I can change things around. I had taken the throttle lever off of the housing when I removed the housing to clean the rust off the flywheel magnets as part of my initial prep to bring things up to snuff initially.

The engine is not running real fast but not slow, if I had to take a guess high med rps but I'm afraid the governor is not going to be working right when under a snow load.

When several posters responded reminding me of the gas line and linkage goof, I remembered I had done the same thing last year on another blower and when I changed it around, it solved the problem. Later let's see if it's the same problem and I will respond back with my findings. Thanks for your generousity on this post and other posts by all!
If my remberer is functioning correctly it drops down and it's just kind of automatic to hook it up that way.

Joe
Sent from my wife's old Toshiba
Ariens 921001
Toro 38074- sold
Toro CCR 3650E-sold
Toro 5/21 sold
Ariens 5/22 ss
Ariens Sno Tek 7/24 sold.
Old green plastic snow shovel... Sent.to shovel Heaven
Old quarry shovel for ice.
New.green shovel
micah68kj is online now  
post #10 of 13 Old 02-07-2017, 12:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,431
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 112
Likes (Given): 13
Likes (Received): 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLawrence08648 View Post
I tried to attach a video and see it did not attach. I attached it from my phone the same way I attached the pics and it did not post. I could not find a way to attach it using my phone or tablet by editing it. Suggestions?
post it on youtube, then put the link in a message here

Work fascinates me.
I can watch somebody work for hours...
2008 Craftsman 944.528391 (It's a Husqvarna ST227P)
27", B&S 305cc 13.5 ft/lb Torque 9.5 hp
skutflut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome