Opening/Repairing Auger Drive J. Deere 5-24 - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 01-19-2018, 08:06 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Opening/Repairing Auger Drive J. Deere 5-24

I have a John Deere 5-24 blower. There is something wrong in the impeller to auger shaft drivebox... impeller spins, augers don't. I can spin the augers freely including the axles (shear pins are in place) so there's nothing happening in the drivebox. This followed an incident where I picked up a piece of wood that stopped the auger in it's tracks.

My question it about how to open up that drive box to check it out inside. I'm guessing that I can unbolt the outer ends of the shafts and remove them, then split the gearbox. But, although I am mechanically skilled, I've never worked on a snowblower drive before. I'm wondering if the axles need to be pulled somehow, if there are seals involved that I have to be careful with, etc.

Guidance for my initial exploration appreciated! Thx,
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 01-19-2018, 08:19 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Received): 42
Likes (Received): 43
Loo for the parts exploded view, for your machine. You don't have to remove the axle's. But you will have to split the machine. That is, remove the auger housing from the back half, were the motor is. Take the belt off the pulley for the auger, beforehand. It really isn't hard to repair. But you need to price out parts. They may be more than the machine is worth.

Ariens ST11528LE
Honda HS720
post #3 of 12 Old 01-19-2018, 08:20 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 118
Thanks (Received): 277
Likes (Given): 358
Likes (Received): 629