my snow blower only run on choke - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 03-25-2018, 08:33 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
my snow blower only run on choke

Hi I can start my snow blower only run on choke so I remove it and clean it out but still not working when I turn to run position and it stop. I see the hose little bit broken attach on the side carburetor ( primer hose I assume? Will this cause the problem to my engine stalled when I turn to run ?
Ken Ken Ken is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Windmount thanked for this post
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 03-25-2018, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
JLawrence08648's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lawrenceville NJ
Posts: 2,110
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 88
Thanks (Received): 174
Likes (Given): 68
Likes (Received): 406
Garage
The primer hose is sucking air in which means you have to make the fuel mixture richer by choking. So before you do anything else, you need to fix that problem. However that does not mean your carb is not dirty. At the very least put Seafoam in the gas and let it run. Or take it apart and use a spray carb cleaner in all the holes. If that doesn't work, take it apart and soak the carb in a carb dunk tank. Also it's always good to make sure you don't have old gas or water in the gas, and have a clean fuel line that is not deteriorating.

1986 Ariens ST522, 5hp, 22"
1995 Murray Craftsman 10hp, 29" w. 12" impeller
A 1983 Real John Deere 10hp, 32" w. 12" impeller, 16" auger, 20" high front, cast iron gear box, chains
Noma 9hp, 27" w. 12" impeller
Noma 5hp, 24" w. 12" impeller, 20" high front
Gravely Convertible, 12hp Kohler cast iron, 26" width, 600 lbs of cast iron & steel, 2 speed impeller, 4 ground speeds
Dynamark 8hp, 26", 12" impeller, for sale
Several other 5hp, 8hp, several 2 cycle, all for sale
JLawrence08648 is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-25-2018, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Lakeville Ma
Posts: 1,627
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 61
Thanks (Received): 156
Likes (Given): 52
Likes (Received): 547
I don't think the primer hose not connected would affect anything....
cranman is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes tadawson liked this post
post #4 of 7 Old 03-25-2018, 02:37 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,132
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 509
Thanks (Received): 680
Likes (Given): 3834
Likes (Received): 1474
Garage
to SBF Ken

The little hose for the primer will not cause a running problem. Even when it's connected it's venting through the open hole in the center of the primer button. Without it working it will be harder to start when it's really cold but it's not your issue.

You just aren't getting enough fuel to the engine. Possibly the carb needs a more through cleaning. Do you need to keep it on full choke to keep it running ?? Have you removed the fuel like at the carb and checked to see if it will flow quickly into a container so you know the hose isn't blocked ?? Does it have a fuel shut off valve ??

.

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is online now  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-25-2018, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Lakeville Ma
Posts: 1,627
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 61
Thanks (Received): 156
Likes (Given): 52
Likes (Received): 547
In my experience running on choke only indicates a too lean condition caused probably by a partially clogged main jet.
cranman is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Kiss4aFrog liked this post
post #6 of 7 Old 03-25-2018, 06:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: bolton, ont(north of toronto)
Posts: 780
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 54
Thanks (Received): 62
Likes (Given): 50
Likes (Received): 148
how good did u clean the carb, it took me 3 times cleaning it to get it too run good, not great but good.
little passages need a stiff skinny wire too clean properly and a whole can of carb cleaner and/or a ultrqasonic cleaner. or buy a clone carb off fleabay, i have but not installed as of yet

Bought a dead but now fixed 1980ish craftsman II 10/28....ITS ONE HEAVY BEAST

MY VIDS ON FIXIN HER UP

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

vinnycom is online now  
post #7 of 7 Old 03-26-2018, 07:02 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Shamong, NJ
Posts: 10
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 2
If you're engine is a Tecumseh....

Below is a good video on how to rebuild your carb...kind of funny, too. It sounds like you need more than just a carb cleaning IMO. This guy Taryl has a video that covers Tecumseh fixed jet and adjustable carbs. There is probably a good video for Briggs carbs out there, too, if you search YouTube.

Also, you don't want to just soak your carb in carb cleaner when you have rubber O-rings in there. He covers that, too. I used the Purple Power like he used mixed 1-1 with water. I soaked it for 3 hours, scrubbed it with a toothbrush and used a small wirebrush wire to clean the really small holes, then I soaked it again for another hour and scrubbed it again. Then I blew it out with my air hose, rinsed in water, and air-dried it. Then I re-assembled with all new O-rings, new seat for the float needle, and re-attached her to the engine. It all depends on how dirty you think it is.

You also need to make sure you don't have any air leaks when remounting the carburetor. Usually you can re-use those gaskets but if torn, buy new ones...or go to a local auto parts store and buy gasket material to trace the original gasket and make a new one...sometimes that can be cheaper than ordering online.


Last edited by kwaropay; 03-26-2018 at 07:04 PM.
kwaropay is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes JLawrence08648 liked this post
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome