Ariens Deluxe 28 Wonít Start - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 Old 08-21-2018, 05:31 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 9
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Ariens Deluxe 28 Wonít Start

Trying to get my brother in laws snow blower started...itís an Ariens Deluxe 28 model 921037 with an AX 414 engine...from what I understand itís been sitting for about 3 years...It had a full tank of fuel so I drained it through the carb bowl to verify I had steady fuel flow...then I put fresh fuel in with seafoam...there is no fuel filter other than the screen in the tank opening...then I pulled the spark plug and cleaned it and reattached the wire and grounded the end of the plug against the engine and pulled the cord to verify I had spark...then I pulled the carb off and ultrasonic cleaned it...reassembled everything and tried to start it with the electric start and the gas cap loose in case it was a vacuum issue and it was backfiring but will not start...any ideas?...thanks in advance


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Point37 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 Old 08-21-2018, 07:12 PM
Senior Member
 
1132le's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: ma
Posts: 1,120
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 26
Thanks (Received): 81
Likes (Given): 59
Likes (Received): 175
Garage
I have the same machine same motor
Look at the 2 wires near the carb bowl makes sure they are not grounding out there is tsb about this i really had to dig to find it


http://apache.ariens.com/manuals/B-2116.pdf


that is a killer machine when its running right
fire your bil for letting it sit 3 years
1132le is offline  
post #3 of 27 Old 08-21-2018, 07:21 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 9
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Ariens Deluxe 28 Wonít Start

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1132le View Post
I have the same machine same motor
Look at the 2 wires near the carb bowl makes sure they are not grounding out there is tsb about this i really had to dig to find it

http://apache.ariens.com/manuals/B-2116.pdf

that is a killer machine when its running right
fire your bil for letting it sit 3 years

Thanks a ton...I think my dad said he was seeing a spark from inside the shield when we were trying to get it started...this may be the issue...does it matter which wire is on top and which is on the bottom when switching to the opposite side?...also just wondering why swapping sides on the run/stop switch would fix the issue?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Point37 is offline  
post #4 of 27 Old 08-21-2018, 07:38 PM
Senior Member
 
1132le's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: ma
Posts: 1,120
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 26
Thanks (Received): 81
Likes (Given): 59
Likes (Received): 175
Garage
the wires are routed very tight bad design

just check them for int grounding
see if you routed them back the right way 1 should almost be above the carb
1132le is offline  
post #5 of 27 Old 08-21-2018, 08:55 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 9
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1132le View Post
the wires are routed very tight bad design

just check them for int grounding
see if you routed them back the right way 1 should almost be above the carb

Thanks again...so I should be trying to separate the routing of these 2 wires?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Point37 is offline  
post #6 of 27 Old 08-21-2018, 09:22 PM
Senior Member
 
1132le's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: ma
Posts: 1,120
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 26
Thanks (Received): 81
Likes (Given): 59
Likes (Received): 175
Garage
As best you can you dont want them taught so there is pressure on them when the machine is running/ vibrates
Is that white covering still on the wires ?
make sure those are protecting the wires
Sparks and gas are a bad combo
The moron i got my machine from had pulled the bowl as he left gas in it
Had the wires in a bad place and the white covering was not in the right place
I had some int grounding and stalling
I re routed 1 wire above the carb and moved the white covering back where it should have been
No more sparks no more stalling
Its amazing what a bad owner can do to almost brand new machine lol
1132le is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Point37 thanked for this post
post #7 of 27 Old 08-23-2018, 06:18 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 9
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1132le View Post
As best you can you dont want them taught so there is pressure on them when the machine is running/ vibrates
Is that white covering still on the wires ?
make sure those are protecting the wires
Sparks and gas are a bad combo
The moron i got my machine from had pulled the bowl as he left gas in it
Had the wires in a bad place and the white covering was not in the right place
I had some int grounding and stalling
I re routed 1 wire above the carb and moved the white covering back where it should have been
No more sparks no more stalling
Its amazing what a bad owner can do to almost brand new machine lol

So I started to follow the TSB and decided to swap the spark plug from my platinum 30 sho (same engine) and give it a try and it fired right up...now it will start and run but the engine surges and backfires and it dies after a few minutes when the choke is off


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Point37 is offline  
post #8 of 27 Old 08-23-2018, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lowell area, MA
Posts: 3,246
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 118
Thanks (Received): 277
Likes (Given): 358
Likes (Received): 632
For my curiosity, you re-routed the wires, or you changed the spark plug? Or both?

If it's surging, but smooths out with choke, then you are running lean, and your carb is likely still dirty. It's possible the jet is simply the wrong size, and is forcing it to run a little lean, even if it's perfectly clean. But a little bit of dirt somewhere is maybe more likely.

If you know the carb is fully clean, you *could* try opening up the jet a little bit. But I'd want to know that I could buy another replacement stock jet first, before I made any permanent modifications.

Ariens 1024 Pro
Toro Power Clear 221QR
Toro Power Curve 1800
RedOctobyr is online now  
post #9 of 27 Old 08-23-2018, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
JLawrence08648's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lawrenceville NJ
Posts: 2,106
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 88
Thanks (Received): 174
Likes (Given): 68
Likes (Received): 406
Garage
Clean the carb, what you do depends on your knowledge, adventuresome, and how dirty the carb is, a spray carb cleaner, carb dunk tank, ultrasonic cleaner.

1986 Ariens ST522, 5hp, 22"
1995 Murray Craftsman 10hp, 29" w. 12" impeller
A 1983 Real John Deere 10hp, 32" w. 12" impeller, 16" auger, 20" high front, cast iron gear box, chains
Noma 9hp, 27" w. 12" impeller
Noma 5hp, 24" w. 12" impeller, 20" high front
Gravely Convertible, 12hp Kohler cast iron, 26" width, 600 lbs of cast iron & steel, 2 speed impeller, 4 ground speeds
Dynamark 8hp, 26", 12" impeller, for sale
Several other 5hp, 8hp, several 2 cycle, all for sale
JLawrence08648 is offline  
post #10 of 27 Old 08-23-2018, 06:48 PM
Senior Member
 
1132le's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: ma
Posts: 1,120
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 26
Thanks (Received): 81
Likes (Given): 59
Likes (Received): 175
Garage
I took off the bowl and took out the jet and imulsion tube and sprayed carb cleaner up the shaft it sits in Pay attention to how the tube comes out

cleaned the jet and all the tiny holes in the tube and it solved the issues you speak of run 2 or 3 tanks through it with seafoam you should be good

Pay attention to where the drain plug is before you remove the bowl it needs to be there to no hit the float
whole thing took me 25 min
you can get it out with a flat blade screw driver just be carefull
I would try that before removing the carb its quite abit more work to get the carb off on this blower
not like and old flat head tech or ohv tech you can do in 5 min
the carb cost a fair amount as they have idle down i think the cheapest is 75 bucks
good luck
1132le is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome