LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 12-19-2018, 02:58 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Friction wheel stuck and won’t shift

Beginner here, I’m not exactly handy but have been able to keep my old JD TRS27 going. One issue it has is it won’t shift. I take off the bottom panel and the friction wheel is to the far right of the drive disk and I cannot get it to move on the shaft at all. I assume this should slide freely as I shift. Ideas on how to free this so I can clean and lube the shaft. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 12-19-2018, 03:07 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 480
Thanks (Received): 342
Likes (Given): 290
Likes (Received): 1117
ALOHA From The Paradise City.

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

MAHALO!!!!!!!!!
post #3 of 9 Old 12-19-2018, 03:16 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 88
Thanks (Received): 174
Likes (Given): 68
Likes (Received): 406
Garage
Something is bent or binding, mostly the latter. Clean the shaft with a solvent, spray a solvent under the friction disk, disconnect the shift linkage at the outside rear bottom, I believe it's a cable, try to move the friction disk. Make sure there is a space between the friction disk and the friction plate. The fiction disk moves sideways, the friction plate moves up and down. Up to meet the friction disk, down to disconnect creating a space thus the snowblower is not going to move. There has to be a space there. There are other reasons, check those first then repost.

1986 Ariens ST522, 5hp, 22"
1995 Murray Craftsman 10hp, 29" w. 12" impeller
A 1983 Real John Deere 10hp, 32" w. 12" impeller, 16" auger, 20" high front, cast iron gear box, chains