LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-17-2019, 11:54 AM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 43
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 110
electrical gurus input wanted

I have read a lot of threads about installing leds and needing rectifiers and caps, fuses and a ability to diagnose when it all does not work including using oscilloscopes, a blackboard for the ohm's law equations, and a box of bulbs for the trial and error.
I tried to follow the "voltage to high thread" and was quickly lost in the technical rocket science portion of electrical flow of vac to vdc and what should be and what should not be done and as well I know that was not specific to my machine. I am a runnability mechanic and know 12vdc systems but the conversion seems to be the key to get it right.

My machine is a Ariens 921 28 dlx with the AX291 cc LCT engine. The electrical output specs for that engine are 60 watt 11-14vac @ 3600 RPM.
I found this converter online which for me would be the cats meow if it will work.
I did a online chat with a rep and told him what I was doing and he said that they have a lot of customers using this on snowblowers.
This thing is like $12.00
From what I see the only thing that is out of spec is the 35 watt but not sure if that would be input or output wattage.
So would I be wrong to assume that if I wanted to have a couple larger leds I could wire 2 of these 1 for each light if the wattage spec were to be a concern.
I would like to hear from electric gurus good or bad , just looking for a easier way and maybe help a lot of others as well.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	led-12v-ac-to-dc-converter-module.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	137.4 KB
ID:	151711  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 01-17-2019, 12:09 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 9
Thanks (Received): 98
Likes (Given): 18
Likes (Received): 256