Rpm tach - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 01-29-2019, 10:07 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
groomerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: chicago Il
Posts: 104
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 10
Thanks (Received): 15
Likes (Given): 9
Likes (Received): 29
Garage
Rpm tach

Bought tach/ hour meter on eBay for less than $10 and connected sensor wire to large spring cli


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
groomerz is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 3 Thanks, 3 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Kiss4aFrog, JLawrence08648, RedOctobyr thanked for this post
Likes tdipaul, Grunt, kenora liked this post
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 01-29-2019, 10:23 AM
Senior Member
 
tdipaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 794
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 71
Thanks (Received): 69
Likes (Given): 241
Likes (Received): 283
I have one of these tachs too and love your clip idea

Much better than wrapping the wire around 4 or 5 times.

Does the clip make for a good, reliable pick up?

1979 Toro 5/24 38040 (now a 6.5/24)
1983 Craftsman FF20 plow tractor
tdipaul is online now  
post #3 of 16 Old 01-29-2019, 11:20 AM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,127
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 509
Thanks (Received): 679
Likes (Given): 3830
Likes (Received): 1472
Garage
That's cool. I really like that idea as I keep one loose for testing machines I don't intend to keep or want to install a tach on permanently.
So much easier than wrapping the wire, tieing, testing and then having to cut the tie off and remove. Just clip and go.


.

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 01-29-2019, 11:53 AM
Member
 
yoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Chicago burbs
Posts: 80
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 8
Thanks (Received): 8
Likes (Given): 8
Likes (Received): 27
Garage
If the clip touches a metal engine part, does it still provide a good signal?

PredaToro: Toro 521, Predator 60363
yoda is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 01-29-2019, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Dannoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 398
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 18
Likes (Given): 42
Likes (Received): 119
These little tachs are great. I have mine screwed to the control panel.
Dannoman is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 01-29-2019, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
SimplicitySolid22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 526
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 51
Thanks (Received): 59
Likes (Given): 56
Likes (Received): 90
Groomerz I have the same one and as the others have stated...wrapping wire is a pain!!!!
Once it is done it is fine but annoying. I had mine attached on dash with velcro worked great. But when I engine swapped I had to remove and wrecked velcro so I have to start a new with new velcro and now I might add that clamp.

Nice and quick with clamp. Is that an easy find????


I also might upgrade to this one due to Backlight!!!!!


https://www.ebay.com/i/332514518214?chn=ps

Last edited by SimplicitySolid22; 01-29-2019 at 12:48 PM.
SimplicitySolid22 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 01-29-2019, 05:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: North Dallas area and UP of MI
Posts: 675
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 14
Thanks (Received): 61
Likes (Given): 53
Likes (Received): 165
I have a DTI Tiny Tach 20K. Not as cheap as the Chinese stuff, but I figure a far better chance of it working more than a well, and it can be setup for multiple ignition types and cylinder counts. Best of all, on most engines, it requires *no* lead whatsoever, although it does have one (with a far better clip than that huge thing . . ) as well. Not cheap, but then again . . . I do feel that I got what I paid for.



https://www.tinytach.com/handheld-tachometers
tadawson is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 01-29-2019, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South Windsor, CT
Posts: 113
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
Groomerz,
I have the same one and I love it. Nice touch with the clip. I have mine wrapped because it is a permanent configuration.

I like the way it is a tach while running and an hour meter when not running.

It's been on for five years and is still working, so I believe it will last awhile.

Bruce
Brucebotti is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 01-29-2019, 08:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: New Brunswick Canada
Posts: 113
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 9
Thanks (Received): 13
Likes (Given): 13
Likes (Received): 14
The clip is a great Idea. I do not have much luck with the Chinese tachs. I have tried 3 and each one worked fine all winter until a wet snow and then they fogged up and stopped working until they dried out. On one, the programming went wonky and it just runs through the settings and will not read anything correctly. Even tried sealing them with fingernail polish and silicon. The one I have left I use as a tester, so I will be getting a clip.

Mid-1980s Craftsman C950-52677-7
8/25 Tecumseh HM80
1983 10/32 Craftsman C459.52252
HMSK110 re-power
Southern New Brunswick near Bay of Fundy
Taurus04 is online now  
post #10 of 16 Old 01-30-2019, 12:16 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
groomerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: chicago Il
Posts: 104
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 10
Thanks (Received): 15
Likes (Given): 9
Likes (Received): 29
Garage
I got clip at ace hardware in the parts drawers had 4 different sizes and also had black or red insulating rubber covers I liked the larger clip as the jaws have a gap when closed that is about the diameter of sp wire so the clip won’t damage the wire.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
groomerz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome